Skip to content

Skillet – Rise (2013) {Deluxe Edition} [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Skillet – Rise (2013) [Deluxe Edition]
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 1:01:03 minutes | 1,26 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Artwork: Front cover | © Atlantic Records

Rise is the highly anticipated recording from the two-time GRAMMY®-nominated rock band. It follows the 2009 blockbuster, Awake, which was recently certified Platinum. They are one of only three rock bands (the other two being Mumford & Sons and the Black Keys) to strike Platinum in 2012.

The recording is a gripping coming-of-age narrative that stands as their first concept album. It tells the compelling story of a typical teenager coming into adulthood and trying to figure out who he is in a world riddled with problems both within and outside his control.

Rise, Grammy Award-nominated Christian rockers Skillet’s ninth studio album, is built around a loosely knit narrative that charts the course of an everyday teenager’s ascension to adulthood, and the challenges of maintaining one’s faith in a largely unforgiving world. Such a vague story, despite numerous evocative, yet largely unnecessary between-song interludes, yields little in the way of any kind of investable, individual emotional arc, but the more general themes of self-discovery, faith, love, and loss resonate enough to pull at least one of the listeners feet into the story. The tight, anthemic title cut sets the stage, offering up a rousing, radio-ready declaration of solidarity that admits to the cumbersomeness of youth while maintaining a glass-half-full world view, which is a common thread throughout the album’s 12 immaculately produced tracks. Operating under a fairly generic umbrella that fuses alt-metal, hard rock, post-grunge, and soaring alternative rock, Skillet’s faceless amiability is ultimately its downfall, and its penchant for following each full-on rocker like “Circus for a Psycho” and “Sick of It” with a midtempo ballad (“Good to Be Alive,” “American Noise,” respectively) gives the proceedings an air of inevitability that detracts from its supposed narrative. That said, it’s hard to root against Rise, as its commercial aspirations are matched by its certainty that, despite the endless smackdowns delivered by the daily grind, goodness will ultimately prevail.

01 – Rise
02 – Sick Of It
03 – Good To Be Alive
04 – Not Gonna Die
05 – Circus For A Psycho
06 – American Noise
07 – Madness In Me
08 – Salvation
09 – Fire And Fury
10 – My Religion
11 – Hard To Find
12 – What I Believe
13 – Battle Cry [Bonus Track]
14 – Everything Goes Black [Bonus Track]
15 – Freakshow [Bonus Track]


%d bloggers like this: