Skip to content

Skillet – Awake (2009) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Skillet – Awake (2009)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 42:05 minutes | 950 MB | Genre: Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: | Front cover | © Atlantic Records

Christian rock phenoms, Skillet followed up their critically acclaimed and GRAMMY nominated record, Comatose, with the eagerly awaited release of Awake. One of Billboard’s biggest mainstream rock acts of 2011, the album proves the band deserves all its praise and recognition. Rich and powerful, the certified Gold album fires with inspired songwriting, silky vocals, stellar guitar riffs and catchy rock tunes. Included on the album are standouts, “Hero,” “Monster,” “Awake and Alive,” “Forgiven,” “It’s Not Me It’s You” and “One Day Too Late,” all of which have been featured on various Billboard Singles’ charts. This highly regarded work is the perfect introduction to one of the best Christian rock bands.

The highest-charting Christian album on the Billboard charts since 2006, Awake could be tagged as Skillet’s mainstream breakthrough on that fact alone. Certainly, the band’s monster modern rock does sound like it could slip onto an active rock playlist — maybe not quite in 2009, but earlier in the decade, when metallic rockers heavy on the guitar downstrokes and power ballads with chant-along vocals were relatively common. That’s not to say that Skillet sound out-of-step with the times — there’s still a gleam to the Howard Benson production that sounds modern — and they do mange to imprint their own identity on this sometimes generic brand of contemporary rock, thanks to their communal vocals, with male and female voices trading off and skyscraper hooks. Skillet also don’t always focus solely on religion, as many of their songs are grounded in inspirational positivity, so that’s another reason why Awake finds the band poised to break into the mainstream.

01 – Hero
02 – Monster
03 – Don’t Wake Me
04 – Awake and Alive
05 – One Day Too Late
06 – It’s Not Me It’s You
07 – Should’ve When You Could’ve
08 – Believe
09 – Forgiven
10 – Sometimes
11 – Never Surrender
12 – Lucy


%d bloggers like this: