Skip to content

Sjaella – Origins (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Sjaella – Origins (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 01:15:14 minutes | 1,43 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Fuga Libera

Sjaella is the vocal ensemble of the moment to discover! Six talented and effervescent female singers who are not afraid of anything and demonstrate as much in a programme entitled “Origins”, ranging from seventieth-century repertory to contemporary pieces. Out of the ether, into existence. The initial point. The beginning. The ever-recurring origin. Between minimalism and picturesque arias arise light, time, and all life.

In “Origins”, the female vocal ensemble focuses on natural cycles that have surrounded us since the dawn of time. In every era, people have experienced the changes in the seasons, the gentle rhythm of day and night, the individual flow of the body, and the transience of rebirth. All of these themes are presented as a unit, which forms a cycle of key concepts from the origin of life to a post-apocalyptic vacuum. The music contrasts and combines new arrangements of English songs of the seventeenth century, some of them from Henry Purcell’s The Fairy Queen, with contemporary pieces, including those in the American Minimalist style, such as David Lang’s Evening, Morning, Day. By including mainly commissioned works, the album shows Sjaella’s close collaboration with renowned international composers such as Paola Prestini, singer-songwriter Shara Nova and former King’s Singers member Philip Lawson.

1. Evening Morning Day (08:13)
2. Have You e’er seen the Morning Sun? (Arr. for Choir) (02:31)
3. Thus the Ever Grateful Spring (Spring) (02:26)
4. Here’s the Summer, Sprightly, Gay (Summer) (03:10)
5. See My Many Coloured Fields (Autumn) (02:45)
6. Now Winter Comes Slowly (Winter) (02:27)
7. Crystallized (10:03)
8. Hypophysis (08:53)
9. Have You Seen the Bright Lily Grow? (02:02)
10. See, Even Night Herself is Here (Night) (03:25)
11. I Am Come to Lock All Fast (Mystery) (01:38)
12. One Charming Night (Secrecy) (02:13)
13. Hush, no More (Sleep) (03:21)
14. Stars (03:45)
15. A Triptych for Our Time: I Apocalypse? (04:00)
16. A Triptych for Our Time: II Dead Soul (04:20)
17. A Triptych for Our Time: III Ascending Stairways (02:08)
18. Vacuum (07:54)


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: