Skip to content

Sistine Chapel Choir – Palestrina: Missa Papae Marcelli; Motets (2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Sistine Chapel Choir – Palestrina: Missa Papae Marcelli; Motets (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 60:20 minutes | 1,05 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital booklet | © Deutsche Grammophon

After last years first album ever to be recorded inside the Sistine chapel, Deutsche Grammophon is proud to now announce the follow-up giving a clear sign of the growing bond and collaboration between the label and the Vatican.

Simply titled Palestrina, it is a new release by the worlds oldest choir performed and recorded in the heart of the Catholic Church, and featuring works by the most celebrated Italian musician of his time and reformer of church music: Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina.

Recorded in this, the year of the Extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy (8 December 2015 to 20 November 2016) – which Pope Francis has defined as a revolution of tenderness and love giving justice to the world it is pure music carrying the essential message of divine generosity and care, selected by choir leader Massimo Palombella.

The Sistine Chapel Choir has developed greatly in this exclusive relationship and the ensemble is now a proud and significant member of the DG family with much to celebrate and champion: a spiritual place to record the sound of the Vatican the famous Sistine Chapel; special access for our guests and treasures from the Vatican libraries: three world premiere recordings: Palestrinas most famous mass, based on the first printed edition from 1967, and two previously unreleased motets; and performers from a number of countries.

01-05. Missa Papae Marcelli
06. Tu Es Pastor Ovium
07. O Bone Iesu
08. Confitemini Domino
09. Ad Te Levavi Oculos Meos
10. Benedixisti, Domine
11. Veritas Mea Et Misericordia Mea
12. Iubilate Deo
13. Confirma Hoc, Deus
14. Ave Maria


%d bloggers like this: