Skip to content

Sinfonia of London & John Wilson – English Music for Strings (Britten – Bliss – Bridge – Berkeley) (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Sinfonia of London & John Wilson – English Music for Strings (Britten – Bliss – Bridge – Berkeley) (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:04:37 minutes | 1,16 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Bookelt, Front Cover | © Chandos

During the 1930s, Bliss, Britten, and Berkeley all contributed major works to the repertoire for string orchestra, following in the footsteps of Elgar and Vaughan Williams. They are joined on this album by Frank Bridge whose Lament was composed during the First World War. Bliss composed Music for Strings after he had completed the film score for Korda’s Things to Come, driven by his desire to compose a piece of ‘pure music’, expressing his own ideas rather than those of others.

Commissioned in May 1937 by Boyd Neel for the Salzburg Festival that summer, Britten’s Variations on a Theme of Frank Bridge was composed at great speed, and helped to establish the young composer’s international reputation. Dedicated to his teacher, Frank Bridge, the theme is taken from the second of Bridge’s Three Idylls for string quartet. Lennox Berkeley composed his Serenade for Strings at Snape Maltings, where he was living with Britten in 1938 and 1939. By the time of its completion the nation was at war and the music seems to reflect the composer’s anxious mood as the world faced an uncertain future.

The front cover features a painting by Edward Wadsworth of Bliss’s house, Pen Pits, built for him in 1935.


1. Sinfonia Of London – Introduction & Theme
2. Sinfonia Of London – Var. 1, Adagio
3. Sinfonia Of London – Var. 2, March
4. Sinfonia Of London – Var. 3, Romance
5. Sinfonia Of London – Var. 4, Aria italiana
6. Sinfonia Of London – Var. 5, Bourrée classique
7. Sinfonia Of London – Var. 6, Wiener Walzer
8. Sinfonia Of London – Var. 7, Moto perpetuo
9. Sinfonia Of London – Var. 8, Funeral March
10. Sinfonia Of London – Var. 9, Chant
11. Sinfonia Of London – Var. 10, Fugue & Finale
12. Sinfonia Of London – Lament, H. 117 (Version for String Orchestra)
13. Sinfonia Of London – I. Vivace
14. Sinfonia Of London – II. Andantino
15. Sinfonia Of London – III. Allegro moderato
16. Sinfonia Of London – IV. Lento
17. Sinfonia Of London – I. Allegro moderato, enerfico
18. Sinfonia Of London – II. Andante, molto sostenuto
19. Sinfonia Of London – III. Allegro molto – Andante moderato


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: