Skip to content

Simone Kopmajer – Good Old Times (2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/176,4kHz]

Simone Kopmajer – Good Old Times (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/176,4 kHz  | Time – 46:25 minutes | 1,58 GB | Genre:  Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Booklet, Front Cover | © Lucky Mojo Records

“Good Old Times” is Simone’s new solo album featuring guitarist Jean-Paul Bourelly, bassist Jamaaladeen Tacuma, pianist Paul Urbanek and drummer Reinhardt Winkler on a 11-song set that presents covers of songs by Neil Young, The Bee Gees, Van Morrison and many more.

On her new album „Good Old Times“ (Lucky Mojo Records), SIMONE KOPMAJER transforms old favourites, clothing pop of the past in a fresh new sound. And she does it in a truly wonderful way… Simone Kopmajer and her band (Jean-Paul Bourelly on guitar, Paul Urbanek on keys, Jamaaladeen Tacuma on bass, Reinhardt Winkler on drums and Margarete Deppe on cello) take us on a tour of recent musical history. Her new album “Good Old Times” features jazz and pop classics from the 20th century. Songs that influenced the artist during her childhood in the 80’s and 90’s. Songs like Van Morrison’s “Have I Told You Lately”, Neil Youngs “Heart of Gold”, and the Bee Gees “First of May” show where Simone Kopmajer is coming from and where her musical roots lie. The really beautiful thing about these covers is that the musicians maintain their freedom and avoid a simple reproduction of the originals. Indeed, the singer and her crew manage to add their own influence to these classics, one that, due to the stylistic breadth of the numbers from pop to jazz and soul, is remarkably diverse. The songs are given a new charm, an elegant and smooth new sound that embraces and enfolds them. Sometimes that happens in a fleet-footed, ecstatic way; sometimes with a hint of melancholy. There are no boundaries to the expression on “Good Old Times”. Simone Kopmajer has once again delivered on the promise of her talent. “Good Old Times” invites the listener to simply lay back and enjoy the moment. It is a lot of fun to enjoy old favourites in a new sound, interpretation and presentation. Highly recommended.

01 – Till There Was You
02 – Lost In Love
03 – Reality
04 – Heart Of Gold
05 – That’s Why (You Go Away)
06 – First Of May
07 – You’re My Everything
08 – Have I Told You Lately
09 – Have You Ever Seen the Rain
10 – Lost Stars
11 – The Morning Star

Simone Kopmajer – vocals
Jean-Paul Bourelly – guitar
Jamaaladeen Tacuma – bass
Paul Urbanek – piano, additional keyboards
Reinhardt Winkler – drums
Margarethe Deppe – cello


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: