Skip to content

Simon Mulligan – Christmas At Steinway Hall (2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Simon Mulligan – Christmas At Steinway Hall (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/192kHz | Time – 00:59:39 minutes | 965 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Steinway and Sons

This new release presents the sounds of Christmas on a Steinway piano – recorded at Steinway Hall in New York City. Simon Mulligan’s tasteful jazz arrangements are an ideal accompaniment to the holiday season. British pianist Simon Mulligan has been described by The Times of London as ‘the most abundantly gifted of pianists’, by Yehudi Menuhin as ‘one of the finest pianists I have ever had the pleasure of performing with’ and by Herbie Hancock as ‘phenomenal’.

Following his début with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Simon has performed and recorded with the BBC Symphony, Detroit Symphony, English Symphony Orchestra, Warsaw Sinfonia, Hong Kong Philharmonic, Malaysian Philharmonic, and the Royal National Scottish Orchestra to name a few. A Music Scholar of St Paul’s School in London, Simon began his studies with Andrew Pledge, before winning a scholarship to study with Alexander Kelly at the Royal Academy of Music and Jacques Rouvier in Paris. He also studied Beethoven at the personal invitation of Alfred Brendel. Simon won a further scholarship to the International Piano Academy at Italy’s Lake Como where he began his studies under Alexis Weissenberg. Simon is one of the youngest recipients to be awarded the prestigious Fellowship of the Royal Academy of Music for his musical achievements. He additionally counts among his mentors Charles Rosen and Murray Perahia.

01 – Baby, It’s Cold Outside (arr. S. Mulligan for piano)
02 – The Christmas Song (arr. S. Mulligan for piano)
03 – Winter Wonderland (arr. S. Mulligan for piano)
04 – Cantique de Noël (O Holy Night) (arr. S. Mulligan for piano)
05 – Festgesang, MWV D4, “Gutenberg-Kantate”: No. 2. (adap. W.H. Cummings as Hark! The Herald Angels Sing) (arr. S. Mulligan for piano)
06 – The First Noel (arr. S. Mulligan for piano)
07 – I Saw Three Ships (arr. S. Mulligan for piano)
08 – While Shepherds Watched their Flocks (arr. S. Mulligan for piano)
09 – Away in a Manger (arr. S. Mulligan for piano)
10 – O Little Town of Bethlehem (arr. S. Mulligan for piano)
11 – I’ll Be Home for Christmas (arr. S. Mulligan for piano)
12 – Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (arr. S. Mulligan for piano)
13 – Silent Night (arr. S. Mulligan for piano)


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: