Skip to content

Shaneeka Simon, St Martin’s Voices & Will Todd – Will Todd: Passion Music, Jazz Missa Brevis (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Shaneeka Simon, St Martin’s Voices & Will Todd – Will Todd: Passion Music, Jazz Missa Brevis (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:17:22 minutes | 1,42 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Signum Records

Passion Music was commissioned for the choirs of St Martin-in-the-Fields and continues the fusion of jazz and choral music so successfully blended in Mass in Blue. The structure highlights different points in the Passion story, beginning with a new setting of ‘Greater love has no man’ and including an evocative Stabat Mater, a movement focusing on the seven last words of Christ, and a setting of ‘Were you there when they crucified my Lord?’.

The Jazz Missa Brevis gives new life to the sung Latin Mass texts in an accessible, short setting which embraces a variety of jazz styles, from the swinging jazz waltz Kyrie to the up-beat Latin-groove Gloria. The smooth jazz ballad Sanctus, 7/8 Benedictus and soulful Agnus Dei complete this inspiring Mass setting.

01. Passion Music: Greater Love
02. Passion Music: We Believe
03. Passion Music: A New Commandment
04. Passion Music: Love Unknown
05. Passion Music: Stabat Mater
06. Passion Music: The Seven Last Words From The Cross
07. Passion Music: My Love Has Died For Me
08. Passion Music: Do Not Stand At My Grave And Weep
09. Passion Music: Were You There When They Crucified My Lord?
10. God So Loved The World
11. I Am Changed
12. Jazz Missa Brevis: Kyrie
13. Jazz Missa Brevis: Gloria
14. Jazz Missa Brevis: Sanctus
15. Jazz Missa Brevis: Benedictus
16. Jazz Missa Brevis: Agnus Dei
17. Tantum Ergo
18. What Sweeter Music

Will Todd Ensemble
St Martin’s Voices
Will Todd, piano
Shaneeka Simon, vocals Helen Lacey, soprano
John Turville, piano Ben Tomlin, bass


%d bloggers like this: