Skip to content

Secret Garden – Sacred Night (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Secret Garden – Sacred Night (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 30:03 minutes | 634 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Universal Music AS

This is the first time Secret Garden has made a Christmas album. The recording is a collaboration with Cathrine Iversen, who is the soloist on all songs. The Christmas songs are new, original songs by Rolf Løvland, except the 500-year old “I Know a Rose Tree”.

The collaboration with Cathrine Iversen started in 2010. She’s been a regular singer with the group on studio recordings and on concert tours since. Rolf says: “The seed to this album was sewn in 2013 when I was asked to write a new song for Cathrine’s local Christmas concerts in her hometown Fredrikstad. Since then, I’ve written a number of new songs. Last year we decided to collect this material and record an album of it.”

The timing suited us well since Fionnuala has undergone cancer treatment in Ireland during this last year,and we had to cancel all concerts and tours in this period. The fact that the Corona pandemic hit us in the middle of recording was an added challenge. We were not able to travel anywhere due to lock-down. Cathrine’s stand-by, being a Pediatric Nurse at the Østfold Hospital Trust,didn’t made the situation any easier. Fionnuala had to record her violin parts in her home in Dublin.


01. Secret Garden – Sacred Night
02. Secret Garden – Sagnet om julerosen
03. Secret Garden – Mørketid
04. Secret Garden – Mary’s Lament
05. Secret Garden – I dette stille øyeblikk
06. Secret Garden – Desembernattens sang
07. Secret Garden – I Know A Rose Tree


%d bloggers like this: