Skip to content

Sean Rowe – New Lore {Deluxe Edition} (2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Sean Rowe – New Lore {Deluxe Edition} (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 45:40 minutes | 899 MB | Genre: Rock, Alternative
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © Anti/Epitaph

Recorded at Memphis’ immortal Sam Phillips Studio with producer Matt Ross-Spang (Jason Isbell), Rowe’s latest finds the singer-songwriter following oft-cited touchstone Richard Thompson along the forking paths staked out by Madman (2014), digging bold piano and sweeping strings, Gospel-soul, pastoral folk-rock and loping country-folk into his favoured earthy ground. Rowe’s rib-rattling baritone – fresh air and clean living continue to separate him from, say, Mark Lanegan – is as distinctive as ever, and despite some faltering moments (“I’ll Follow Your Trail”), he’s often exquisitely enigmatic (emotive high point “The Salmon”).

Earthy alt-folk bard Sean Rowe returns with New Lore, his fourth outing for the Anti- label. With his gently fingerpicked guitar and resounding baritone voice, Rowe’s records have typically felt like introspective soul journeys whose emotional scales tip subtly with varying degrees of darkness and light. His previous record, 2014’s eclectic Madman, showed a somewhat sunnier side of the upstate New Yorker’s personality and introduced some colorful new tones to his sound. Recorded in Memphis at Sam Phillips’ legendary studio, New Lore continues some of that sonic exploration while offering what may be some of Rowe’s most heartfelt songwriting to date. The change of scenery to one of America’s musical heartlands has a pronounced effect, particularly on tracks like “Promise of You,” a redemptive gospel-inspired piano ballad, and the more R&B-oriented “Newton’s Cradle,” with its staccato string enhancements and funky electric piano. Elsewhere Rowe tries his hand at classic outlaw country on “It’s Not Hard to Say Goodbye,” which comes off like a hybrid of Waylon Jennings and Leonard Cohen, yet suits his own distinctive voice better than almost anything on the album. Even as he tries on his variety of styles, the common thread stitching New Lore together is one of poignant sentimentality, which is probably best evidenced on “I’ll Follow Your Trail,’ an unabashedly tender tale of parenthood. Another warm ballad along those lines is “I Can’t Make a Living from Holding You,” painting the family man as the reluctant and weary traveler. Between his sincerity and the warmly captured performances, Rowe has added another fine record to his growing canon.

01 – Gas Station Rose
02 – The Salmon
03 – Promise Of You
04 – I’ll Follow Your Trail
05 – The Vine
06 – Newton’s Cradle
07 – I Can’t Make A Living From Holding You
08 – It’s Not Hard To Say Goodbye Sometimes
09 – You Keep Coming Alive
10 – The Very First Snow
11 – To Leave Something Behind



%d bloggers like this: