Skip to content

Scott Hamilton – Scott Hamilton With Strings (1993) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Scott Hamilton – Scott Hamilton With Strings (1993)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 54:34 minutes | 1,15 GB | Genre:Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital Booklet | @ Concord Jazz

Saxophone heavyweight Scott Hamilton wanted to make an album that would stand up to the best of them and he wanted to do it the right way. To do this he choose some of his favorite ballads and played the songs live in studio with a large string section, with no overdubs or laid-in tracks. This album was arranged and conducted by Alan Broadbent. The record was recorded in Hollywood on October 5 & 6, 1992.

Tenor saxophonist Scott Hamilton was so consistent on his many albums for Concord that none are throwaways. This particular one, though, is of lesser interest than most. Hamilton is backed by a 20-piece string section arranged by pianist Alan Broadbent, and largely sticks to slow ballads. His tone on tenor is typically beautiful and the music is quite tasteful, but it lacks much variety. No surprises occur in the arrangements (everything is pretty) and, although there is some double-timing, Hamilton’s playing is consistently lyrical and a bit lazy, as if shy to shake up the proceedings. This disc is best experienced in small doses for, if played all the way through, the results are a bit sleepy and rather predictable.

01 – My Foolish Heart
02 – Goodbye Mr. Evans
03 – The Shining Sea
04 – Angel Eyes
05 – Heart’s Desire
06 – The Look Of Love
07 – Nancy (With The Laughing Face)
08 – Young And Foolish
09 – I Concentrate On You
10 – Tonight I Shall Sleep With A Smile On My Face


%d bloggers like this: