Skip to content

Sarah Vaughan – No Count Sarah (1958/2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Sarah Vaughan – No Count Sarah (1958/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 35:39 minutes | 1,51 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Verve Reissues

Sarah Vaughan recorded in a variety of settings while with Mercury and EmArcy in the 1950s, but this particular matchup with the Count Basie Orchestra (pianist Ronnell Bright substitutes for Count, thus the title) is pure jazz. During the classic encounter, Vaughan fits in comfortably with the band, whether singing lyrics (such as “Darn That Dream,” “Cheek to Cheek,” or “Doodlin'”) or scatting sensuously on “No Count Blues.” The wit and constant swing (in addition to the spontaneous creativity), makes this one of the best of all Sarah Vaughan recordings. Highly recommended. – Scott Yanow


1. Sarah Vaughan – Smoke Gets In Your Eyes
2. Sarah Vaughan – Doodlin’
3. Sarah Vaughan – Darn That Dream
4. Sarah Vaughan – Just One Of Those Things
5. Sarah Vaughan – Moonlight In Vermont
6. Sarah Vaughan – No Count Blues
7. Sarah Vaughan – Cheek To Cheek
8. Sarah Vaughan – Stardust
9. Sarah Vaughan – Missing You


%d bloggers like this: