Skip to content

Sara Bareilles – The Blessed Unrest (2013) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Sara Bareilles – The Blessed Unrest (2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 50:42 minutes | 1,05 GB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | © Epic Records

Produced by John O’ Mahony (Coldplay, Metric) and Mark Endert (Fiona Apple, The Fray, Train),The Blessed Unrest is Sara Bareilles’ highly anticipated fourth studio album. The three-time GRAMMY®-nominated recording artist was recently named one of VH1’s “Top 100 Greatest Women in Music.” The work showcases Bareilles’ sensational vocals and unparalleled songwriting. The album, one of her most personal efforts, features the trials and tribulations of the past year. Bareilles states “The songs on this album are a true reflection of everything I’ve come to experience in recent months.” The Blessed Unrest is led by the hit new single, “Brave.”

Bareilles deserves credit for not holding anything back on The Blessed Unrest, and that paid off handsomely. – Newsday

The Blessed Unrest is the flip side of Kaleidoscope Heart, the 2010 album that presaged Sara Bareilles’ move into the mainstream, giving the singer/songwriter her first number one album and opening the door for a gig on network television hosting the competition The Sing-Off. Kaleidoscope Heart was bright and almost baroque, its arrangements lush and large, the kind of record that seems hazily triumphant — which it was, to the extent that it was following her breakthrough hit “Love Song,” the kind of single that could’ve pegged her as a one-hit wonder along the lines of Vanessa Carlton. Bareilles escaped that fate, as that spot on The Sing-Off illustrates, but The Blessed Unrest doesn’t quite feel like a record written in the wake of such success. It’s moody and textured, rolling out at a deliberate pace and colored in blues and greys, skillfully skirting the edges of alienation — for as much as Bareilles can occasionally suggest early Fiona Apple, as she does once again on “Hercules,” there is no chance she’ll chuck it all in and deliver a piano-and-drums excursion into the avant-garde — by asking listeners to lean in so they can absorb all the details. There are moments of levity here, such as the effervescent “Little Black Dress” and the subtly synthesized rhythms on “Eden,” but they’re here to provide necessary texture and relief, puncturing the cool nocturnal glow of The Blessed Unrest just enough so the album opens up and doesn’t feel mopey. Then again, Bareilles is such a naturally melodic songwriter that she doesn’t run much of a risk of seeming insular on The Blessed Unrest and, fortunately, the feel of the album follows the contours of her melodies, so its melancholy is warm and inviting.

01 – Brave
02 – Chasing The Sun
03 – Hercules
04 – Manhattan
05 – Satellite Call
06 – Little Black Dress
07 – Cassiopeia
08 – 1000 Times
09 – I Choose You
10 – Eden
11 – Islands
12 – December


%d bloggers like this: