Skip to content

Sara Bareilles – Amidst the Chaos (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Sara Bareilles – Amidst the Chaos (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 49:43 minutes | 1,02 GB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Epic

Amidst the Chaos is the upcoming sixth studio album by American singer-songwriter Sara Bareilles, scheduled to be released on April 5, 2019, through Epic Records. The lead single from the album, “Armor”, was released digitally on October 26, 2018.

For one who had always demonstrated her admiration for the Obamas, the election of Donald Trump in 2016 would have no doubt been a terrible shock. The “Chaos” that she talks of in the title of this album is therefore that of a world in the late 2010s, a chaos created, amongst other things, by Trump. But rather than shame the orange fake tan enthusiast, Sara Bareilles choses a language that is soft and romantic. The album is thus made up of genuine love songs addressed to Barack and Michelle. In the soul ballad No Such Thing, she asks herself – a little like Gilbert Bécaud in his time – what she can do now (Love, What Now?). And in If I Can’t Have You, she gets to grips with lucidity, depth and disarray and the notion of being at a loss (if I can’t have you/Then I’ll have to find a way to get through/Though I don’t want to). However, the album is not only dismay and chagrin faced with a traumatic political situation. The songs also contain aspects of action and hope, most notably regarding the position of women in society – even though this thought often takes the form of a series of homages to specific female figures: Miss Simone alludes enthusiastically to Nina Simone, while Armor is a declaration of love to Tori Amos, one of Sara Bareilles role models. Her compassion towards the tragic situation of migrants is shown in A Safe Place to Land. Musically, the folk pop arrangements reflect the softness of Sara Bareilles’ lyrics and voice. The record includes her inseparable piano, as well as sharp guitars and many delicate rhythmic sections.  – Nicolas Magenham

1. Fire
2. No Such Thing
3. Armor
4. If I Can’t Have You
5. Eyes on You
6. Miss Simone
7. Wicked Love
8. Orpheus
9. Poetry by Dead Men
10. Someone Who Loves Me
11. Saint Honesty
12. A Safe Place to Land – Sara Bareilles feat. John Legend


%d bloggers like this: