Skip to content

Santana – Freedom (1987/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Santana – Freedom (1987/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 47:19 minutes | 975 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Artwork: Front cover | Source: Qobuz | © Epic

Freedom is the fourteenth studio album by Santana. By this recording, Santana had nine members, some of which had returned after being with the band in previous versions. Freedom moved away from the more poppy sound of the previous album, Beyond Appearances and back to the band’s original Latin rock.

Freedom marked several reunions in the Santana band, which was now a nonet. In addition to Carlos, the band consisted of percussionists Armando Pereza, Orestes Vilato, and Raul Rekow; returning drummer Graham Lear; bassist Alphonso Johnson; returning keyboardist Tom Coster, keyboardist Chester Thompson, and, on lead vocals, Buddy Miles, who had made a duet album with Santana 15 years before. Credited as an “additional musician” was keyboard player Greg Rolie, an original member. The music also marked a return from the hyper-pop sound of Val Garay on Beyond Appearances to a more traditional Santana Latin rock style. Thus, Freedom was a literal return to form, but, unfortunately, not to the quality of early Santana albums. And the group’s commercial decline continued, with the LP getting to only Number 95.

01 – Veracruz
02 – She Can’t Let Go
03 – Once It’s Gotcha
04 – Love Is You
05 – Songs Of Freedom
06 – Deeper, Dig Deeper
07 – Praise
08 – Mandela
09 – Before We Go
10 – Victim Of Circumstance


%d bloggers like this: