Skip to content

Samara Joy – Samara Joy (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Samara Joy – Samara Joy (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 41:53 minutes | 828 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Whirlwind Recordings

Samara Joy is a singing star in the ascendancy. The young vocalist attracted attention in 2019 after winning the Sarah Vaughan International Jazz Vocal Competition. Now, the 21-year-old announces her self-titled debut release, which puts her spin on jazz standards from the Great American Songbook. Produced by Grammy-nominated veteran Matt Pierson, she’s joined by jazz guitar virtuoso Pasquale Grasso and his trio (Ari Roland and Kenny Washington) for a release that furthers Joy’s reputation as one of America’s most promising young jazz vocalists. Samara Joy will be released on July 9th, 2021 as a compact disc, vinyl LP, and digital download via Whirlwind Recordings.

Joy grew up in the Bronx around a supportive musical family. Music was a pervasive presence, due to the inspiration of her paternal grandparents, Elder Goldwire and Ruth McLendon, who led the Philadelphia-based gospel group, The Savettes. “My mother and father gave me the opportunity to hear music on an interesting spectrum, from Luther Vandross and Chaka Khan through to George Duke and Stevie Wonder. Actually, I hadn’t heard of Sarah Vaughan until college. My friends were all into jazz and started sharing their favorite recordings with me. The turning point was when I heard Sarah’s version of “Lover Man” – I was hooked.”

It’s with singers like Vaughan and Ella Fitzgerald that early comparisons have been made, and close study of such vocalists formed the basis of the album. “The inspiration comes from absorbing as much of their style as possible. It’s a glimpse of what I’ve learned so far, and a way for me to pay homage to those who have come before, while lending my own perspective to these songs.”

1. Samara Joy – Stardust
2. Samara Joy – Everything Happens to Me
3. Samara Joy – If You Never Fall in Love with Me
4. Samara Joy – Let’s Dream in the Moonlight
5. Samara Joy – It Only Happens Once
6. Samara Joy – Jim
7. Samara Joy – The Trouble with Me Is You
8. Samara Joy – If You’d Stay the Way I Dream
9. Samara Joy – Lover Man (Oh Where Can You Be?)
10. Samara Joy – Only a Moment Ago
11. Samara Joy – Moonglow
12. Samara Joy – But Beautiful


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: