Skip to content

Sam Phillips – Martinis & Bikinis (1994/2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Sam Phillips – Martinis & Bikinis (1994/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 00:46:39 minutes | 981 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Virgin Records

Martinis & Bikinis is the seventh studio album by American singer and songwriter Sam Phillips. It was released on March 8, 1994 and re-released on July 17, 2012.”Circle of Fire” was nominated for Best Female Rock Vocal Performance at the 37th Annual Grammy Awards.

With Martinis and Bikinis, Sam Phillips’ music turns decidedly Beatlesque: edgier and more psychedelic than her previous work, songs like “Strawberry Road” and “Same Rain” springboard from John Lennon-inspired origins, while “Same Changes” brazenly borrows from “If I Needed Someone” — Van Dyke Parks’ string arrangement for the stunning “Baby, I Can’t Please You” even recalls “Tomorrow Never Knows.” (To punctuate matters, the album closes with a cover of Lennon’s “Gimme Some Truth.”) The difference between Phillips and the vast majority of her pop-revisionist contemporaries, however, is that she never coasts on the fumes of her influences, but turns them on their head and gives them new life — regardless of the approach, her impassioned, spiritually charged songs remain the product of a singular vision.
– Jason Ankeny

1. Sam Phillips – Love And Kisses
2. Sam Phillips – Signposts
3. Sam Phillips – Same Rain
4. Sam Phillips – Baby I Can’t Please You
5. Sam Phillips – Circle Of Fire
6. Sam Phillips – Strawberry Road
7. Sam Phillips – When I Fall
8. Sam Phillips – Same Changes
9. Sam Phillips – Black Sky
10. Sam Phillips – Fighting With Fire
11. Sam Phillips – I Need Love
12. Sam Phillips – Wheel Of The Broken Voice
13. Sam Phillips – Gimme Some Truth


%d bloggers like this: