Skip to content

Sam Cooke – Ain’t That Good News (Remastered) (1964/2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Sam Cooke – Ain’t That Good News (Remastered) (1964/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 33:25 minutes | 627 MB | Genre: Soul
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Abkco Music & Records, Inc.

This album, which was sadly to be Sam Cooke’s last, found him exercising a hard-won creative freedom to fine effect. You can hear it most clearly in the moving, socially relevant ballad ‘A Change Is Gonna Come.’ But it doesn’t stop there. Cooke dips into the well of country music for a version of the classic ‘Tennessee Waltz’ that is startling in its transformative ability, as he accomplishes a feat that no one but Ray Charles himself was capable of at the time–turning country seamlessly into soul.

The lighthearted ‘Another Saturday Night’ paints a detailed portrait of loneliness that’s fully charged with humor rather than desperation, showing how Cooke could straddle several emotions at once within the same song. „Ain’t That Good News“ is the sound of a man at the peak of his powers, flexing all of his musical muscles. It’s just a shame that this was to be the soul legend’s swan song. His first album on the Tracey label from 1964 available for the first time on HighResAudio!


01. Sam Cooke – (Ain’t That) Good News
02. Sam Cooke – Meet Me At Mary’s Place
03. Sam Cooke – Good Times
04. Sam Cooke – Rome (Wasn’t Built In A Day)
05. Sam Cooke – Another Saturday Night
06. Sam Cooke – Tennessee Waltz
07. Sam Cooke – A Change Is Gonna Come
08. Sam Cooke – Falling In Love
09. Sam Cooke – Home (When Shadows Fall)
10. Sam Cooke – Sittin’ In The Sun
11. Sam Cooke – There’ll Be No Second Time
12. Sam Cooke – The Riddle Song


%d bloggers like this: