Skip to content

Ryuichi Sakamoto – B-2 Unit (Remastered) (1980/2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Ryuichi Sakamoto – B-2 Unit (Remastered) (1980/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 37:20 minutes | 725 MB | Genre: Electronic
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Sony Music Direct

Released in 1980 while Yellow Magic Orchestra was enjoying its first wave of mega-success, B-2 Unit was Ryuichi Sakmoto’s second full length solo effort. Contrasting with the pop-oriented works Sakamoto was doing with YMO at the time, B-2 Unit was produced with a focus on sounds and tones rather than traditional song strucutres. B-2 Unit has proven to be very much ahead of its time and extremely influential in the development of electronic music. “”Riot In Lagos,”” in particular, is often cited as the blueprint for electro/techno sounds that would rise to prominence in the ensuing decade. Recorded in London and Tokyo with dub master Dennis Bovell, Penguin Cafe Orchestra’s Steve Nye, XTC’s Andy Partridge, guitarist Kenji Omura.

1. differencia (2:06)
2. thatness and thereness (3:28)
3. participation mystique (6:41)
4. E-3A (4:46)
5. iconic storage (4:43)
6. riot in Lagos (5:40)
7. not the 6 o’clock news (5:03)
8. the end of europe (4:57)


%d bloggers like this: