Skip to content

Ryan Blotnick – Everything Forgets (2009) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Ryan Blotnick – Everything Forgets (2009)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 59:31 minutes | 1,01 GB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital booklet | © Songlines Recordings

What one especially takes away from Everything Forgets is an appreciation for Blotnick’s melodic gift (both in the writing and improvising), and how this music indeed evokes a range of feelings with grace and humanity. In the Songlines interview Ryan acknowledges his indebtedness in different pieces to Sonny Rollins, Benoît Delbecq, Skúli Sverrisson, and friends/colleagues Michael Blake, Bill McHenry, and Eivind Opsvik among others, but his music makes a true statement of its own.

Since the release of his widely acclaimed Songlines CD Music Needs You in 2007, the New York based guitarist has been performing with Michael Blake Band, Pete Robbins & Centric, and gigging in England and Europe. While there he met the Belgian reed player Joachim Badenhorst (featured on our April release Equilibrium), Irish electric bassist Simon Jermyn, and NY drummer Jeff Williams. The impromptu quartet made a mostly free-form demo (“it had this kind of 70s rock vibe mixed with a more modern ‘Icelandic’ soundscape kind of thing,” says Blotnick). When Badenhorst moved to New York last fall, Jermyn came over as well and the quartet did a tour and recording session, focusing on improvs as well as new pieces Blotnick had composed for his NY trio. In early 2009, on tour in Spain with 3/5 of the Music Needs You band (Barcelona-based US drummer Joe Smith and NY bassist Perry Wortman), the trio re-recorded those tunes. This CD selects the best takes from the two sessions and sequences them into two album sides. The lighter, groovier post-jazz trio tracks foreground Ryan’s improvising on his compositions, while the quartet often has a heavier, freer avantrock/new music feel.

01 – Intro
02 – Mansell
03 – Judge’s Cave
04 – Mainstream I
05 – My Memory, Sir, Is Like a Garbage Heap
06 – Ballad For a Crumbling Infrastructure
07 – Dark Matter (for Benoît Delbecq)
08 – Slowdozer
09 – Look, a Way!
10 – Mainstream II
11 – Sulphur, the Reins
12 – Funes the Memorious
13 – Business Class
14 – Cloud Stove
15 – Ned Ferm
16 – Sonny Song

– Ryan Blotnick: guitar
– Joachim Badenhorst: tenor saxophone, clarinet & bass clarinet
– Joe Smith: drums
– Perry Wortman: bass
– Simon Jermyn: bass, effects
– Jeff Williams: drums, chimes


%d bloggers like this: