Skip to content

Ryan Adams – Prisoner (2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Ryan Adams – Prisoner (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 42:57 minutes | 887 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: ProStudioMasters | Front Cover | ©  Pax Americana Record Company

Produced by Don Was, the highly anticipated Prisoner is the first release from Ryan Adams since his 2015 Taylor Swift cover album 1989. With influences from AC/DC and Electric Light Orchestra to Bruce Hornsby and Bachman-Turner Overdrive, the tracks may be more uptempo than in the past, but lyrically Adams is just as personal and soul-searching as before.

“When I run, I listen to (an iPod) Nano … I put all the AC/DC records on from back to front, or I’ll listen to the best of stuff from the ’80s: Springsteen, or (Bruce) Hornsby and I’ll listen to what is going on there. I was listening to AC/DC’s Fly on the Wall and that’s when I realized what I had to do for the record … it’s about the big questions of somebody my age who’s been through the things I’ve been through. But I didn’t feel I needed to make something that was dark and heavy.”
– Ryan Adams

Picking up the thread left hanging from 2014’s eponymous album — in retrospect, his 2015 cover of Taylor Swift’s 1989 seems even more of a detour — Ryan Adams winds up diving ever deeper into early-’80s sounds and sensibilities on Prisoner. Such supple sounds are carefully constructed with producer Don Was, a professional who helps Adams articulate the AOR ideals he initially essayed in 2014. Prisoner sounds warm, open, and inviting, its welcoming vibes contradicting how it’s an album born out of pain, a record written in the aftermath of Adams’ divorce from Mandy Moore. Sadness haunts the corners of Prisoner — it’s there in the very song titles, beginning with the opener “Do You Still Love Me” and running through its aching closer, “We Disappear” — but it’s not a sorrowful record, not with its smooth edges and warm center. All of this is an outgrowth of the aesthetic Adams pioneered in 2014, one that he lent to Jenny Lewis’ The Voyager, and the reconstituted soft rock suits him well: it’s a salute to the past and Adams always respected tradition. If the songs on Prisoner follow a conventional path of heartbreak — a man sorting through the remnants of a broken romance — the sound helps give the album an identity. Adams largely relies on cinematic classic rock tricks, a move underscored by how “Outbound Train” seems like an answer to Bruce Springsteen’s “Downbound Train” — toward the end of the record he starts to thread in a few spare acoustic confessionals, songs that play like subdued nods to his Americana past — and that’s the charm of Prisoner: it’s not a record that wallows in hurt, it’s an album that functions as balm for bad times. ~~ AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

01 – Do You Still Love Me?
02 – Prisoner
03 – Doomsday
04 – Haunted House
05 – Shiver And Shake
06 – To Be Without You
07 – Anything I Say To You Now
08 – Breakdown
09 – Outbound Train
10 – Broken Anyway
11 – Tightrope
12 – We Disappear

NOTE: Track “5” – 44.1 kHz / 24-bit PCM, mastered in 96 kHz / 24-bit
Tracks “2, 7, 8, 10, 12” – 48 kHz / 24-bit PCM, mastered in 96 kHz / 24-bit


    Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

    %d bloggers like this: