Skip to content

Rush – A Farewell To Kings – 40th Anniversary (1977/2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Rush – A Farewell To Kings – 40th Anniversary (1977/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz  | Time – 37:29 minutes | 1.2 GB | Genre: Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | © Mercury Records
Recorded: June 1977 at Rockfield Studios in South Wales, UK

This 1977 release, the band’s fifth studio album, was recorded at Rockfield Studios in Wales and mixed in London’s Advision Studios. It became the band’s first U.S. gold-selling album within two months of release, and went platinum. The singles included “Closer to the Heart” and “Cinderella Man” while the album peaked at #33 on the Billboard 200 and #22 on the U.K. album charts.

On 1977’s A Farewell to Kings it quickly becomes apparent that Rush had improved their songwriting and strengthened their focus and musical approach. Synthesizers also mark their first prominent appearance on a Rush album, a direction the band would continue to pursue on future releases. With the popular hit single “Closer to the Heart,” the trio showed that they could compose concise and traditionally structured songs, while the 11-minute “Xanadu” remains an outstanding accomplishment all these years later (superb musicianship merged with vivid lyrics help create one of Rush’s best all-time tracks). The album-opening title track begins with a tasty classical guitar/synth passage, before erupting into a powerful rocker. The underrated “Madrigal” proves to be a delicately beautiful composition, while “Cinderella Man” is one of Rush’s few songs to include lyrics penned entirely by Geddy Lee. The ten-minute tale of a dangerous black hole, “Cygnus X-1,” closes the album on an unpredictable note, slightly comparable to the two bizarre extended songs on 1975’s Caress of Steel. A Farewell to Kings successfully built on the promise of their breakthrough 2112, and helped broaden their audience. –Greg Prato

1 A Farewell To Kings 5:51
2 Xanadu 11:08
3 Closer To The Heart 2:53
4 Cinderella Man 4:21
5 Madrigal 2:35
6 Cygnus X-1 Book I: The Voyage 10:25

Geddy Lee: vocals, bass and twelve-string guitar, Mini Moog, bass pedal synthesizers
Alex Lifeson: electric and acoustic six- and twelve-string guitars, classical guitar, bass pedal synthesizers
Neil Peart: drums, orchestra bells, wind chimes, bell tree, vibraslap, triangle, tubular bells, temple blocks
With Terry Brown: spoken intro on “Cygnus X-1”


%d bloggers like this: