Skip to content

Royal Blood – How Did We Get So Dark (2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Royal Blood – How Did We Get So Dark (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 34:29 minutes | 419 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Digital Booklet | © Warner Bros. Records

How Did We Get So Dark? is the second studio album by British rock duo Royal Blood. The only guitar band on the BBC’s Sounds of 2014 list, the Brighton drums and bass (as opposed to drum’N’ bass) duo Royal Blood hit No 1 with their debut album and acquired a celeb fan in Led Zeppelin’s Jimmy Page. Repeating the feat hasn’t been easy: this is an archetypal difficult second album. Hard riffola, cannon fire drumming and glam preening again ignite songs pitched somewhere between Queens Of The Stone Age and Muse.

On their eponymous 2014 debut, Royal Blood came across like a monochromatic Brummie version of the White Stripes, one that was intent on hitting so hard they could conjure memories of Black Sabbath. Despite its foreboding title, How Did We Get So Dark? doesn’t feel quite as heavy as its predecessor. Much of this is due to the duo of Mike Kerr and drummer Ben Thatcher opening up their production so that How Did We Get So Dark? doesn’t primarily rely on their hypercharged rhythm section. To be sure, this remains the bedrock of Royal Blood’s sound, but the addition of fuzz guitars, harmonies, and even a few keyboards along with a bit of a funk swing to the grooves makes a world of difference in the band’s attack. Here, they not only sound brawny but nimble, navigating twists in their riffs and rhythms without a hitch and without flash. Such lack of pretension usually works for Royal Blood’s overall benefit – it underscores their muscle – even if it occasionally means that their songs can feel like a pile of hooks. That doesn’t happen as often on How Did We Get So Dark? as it did on Royal Blood: broadening the sonic palette helps sharpen the songs, and the result is a sophomore set that’s ambitious and satisfying.

01 – How Did We Get So Dark?
02 – Lights Out
03 – I Only Lie When I Love You
04 – She’s Creeping
05 – Look Like You Know
06 – Where Are You Now?
07 – Don’t Tell
08 – Hook, Line & Sinker
09 – Hole in Your Heart
10 – Sleep


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: