Skip to content

Rolando Villazón – Verdi (2012/2013) [High Fidelity Pure Audio Blu-Ray Disc]

Rolando Villazón – Verdi (2012/2013) [High Fidelity Pure Audio Blu-Ray Disc]

LPCM 2.0  and DTS-HD Master Audio 2.0 & Dolby TrueHD 2.0 | 24bit / 96kHz |  Time – 00:56:34 minutes | 6,4 GB

“Welcome to this musical journey through some of the many beautiful works that Verdi wrote for tenor. We start with an aria from his very first opera, Oberto. Then you will listen to other arias from his early years, from his most popular operas and from his mature period, as well as to a selection of songs orchestrated by Berio, to the solo tenor part from his great religious oratorio, all the way to the very last aria he composed for tenor.

“To perform Verdi is to perform variations on the eternal melody of the human soul. Verdi was a man who came from the people and composed for the people, a genius who never lost contact with the basic forces of the human heart. Verdi was indeed the least pretentious of all composers. When critics of his time said that he who thinks that great music is an expression of love, pain etc, is wrong, he simply replied: “And why should one not believe that music is the expression of love and pain and etc?” For Verdi, “art that misses simplicity and naturalness is not Art. An idea must stem from the simple.”

“It has been an immense joy to sail through Verdi’s rich musical sea – with its limpid blue waters, tremendous tempests, caressing waves and sunsets red as blood – in the company of the Orchestra Teatro Regio Torino and the great Gianandrea Noseda. It is also a pleasure to welcome my dear colleague Mojca Erdmann on this wonderful musical odyssey. We hope you enjoy the journey with us and that, after having listened to it, you feel an absolute need to dive into the vast ocean of the great Maestro Verdi’s complete works.” – Rolando Villazón

“Tenor roles in the operas of Giuseppe Verdi require vocalism of exceptional beauty and power, combined with a blazing sincerity of expression. That is abundantly clear in Rolando Villazón’s all-Verdi recital, finely balanced between popular pieces and significantly less familiar ones. The feeling of discovery will surely be as thrilling to Villazón’s listeners as it has been to the singer himself. Verdi has been integral to Villazón’s international career and, in continuing his exploration of Verdi via this disc, the tenor has created a fascinating journey through the composer’s very long life.

“Villazón cherishes, above all, the emotional pull that gives him a universal and timeless appeal. “Verdi was able to translate the main emotions of humanity into music,” says Villazón. The operas repeatedly depict “jealousy, love, sadness, moaning for death, craving for what you cannot have.” But, whatever the dramatic situation, Verdi “connects directly to the essence of what makes us human beings.”  – Roger Pines, dramaturg and broadcast commentator at Lyric Opera of Chicago

Verdi – Rolando Villazon – Noseda Track Listing:

1.  Oberto, Conte di San Bonifacio Act 2 – “Ciel Che Feci!… Di Qual Sangue…”
2.  I Due Foscari Act 1 – Scena: “Qui Ti Rimani” – Arioso: “Brezza Del Suol Natio”
3.  8 Romanze Per Tenore E Orchestra – Brindisi
4.  8 Romanze Per Tenore E Orchestra – L’esule
5.  I Lombardi Act 2 – O Madre Mia, Che Fa Colei – La Mia Letizia Infondere
6.  8 Romanze Per Tenore E Orchestra – In Solitaria Stanza
7.  Il Corsaro Act 3 – “Eccomi Prigionero!”
8.  Rigoletto Act 1 – “Questa O Quella” (Ballata)
9.  Rigoletto Act 3 – “La Donna E Mobile”
10. La Traviata Act 2 – “Lunge Da Lei … De’ Miei Bollenti Spiriti”
11. La Traviata Act 2 – “O Mio Rimorso!”
12. Un Ballo In Maschera Act 1 – “La Rivedrà Nell’estasi…Il Cenno Mio”
13. Don Carlo Act 1 – “Fontainebleau! Foresta Immensa E Solitaria!”
14. Messa da Requiem – Dies Irae – Ingemisco
15. Falstaff Act 3 – “Dal Labbro Il Canto Estasiato Vola”


Giuseppe Verdi (composer)
Gianandrea Noseda (conductor)
Rolando Villazón (tenor vocal)
Orchestra Teatro Regio Torino

Blu-ray Pure Audio Discs:

Audio is taken from the original master tapes and mastered in 24-bit/96kHz resolution with a choice of three sound formats: PCM, Dolby True HD, or DTS-HD Master Audio. You can finally enjoy the music in the fidelity originally experienced in the studio.


Disc Size:      6 869 906 290 bytes
Protection:     AACS
BD-Java:        No
BDInfo:         0.5.8


Name:                   00001.MPLS
Length:                 0:56:34.974 (
Size:                   6 869 200 896 bytes
Total Bitrate:          16,19 Mbps


Codec                   Bitrate             Description
-----                   -------             -----------
MPEG-4 AVC Video        2701 kbps           1080p / 23,976 fps / 16:9 / High Profile 4.1


Codec                           Language        Bitrate         Description
-----                           --------        -------         -----------
LPCM Audio                      Multiple languages4608 kbps       2.0 / 96 kHz / 4608 kbps / 24-bit
DTS-HD Master Audio             Multiple languages3555 kbps       2.0 / 96 kHz / 3555 kbps / 24-bit (DTS Core: 3.0 / 48 kHz / 1509 kbps / 24-bit)
Dolby TrueHD Audio              Multiple languages2878 kbps       2.0 / 96 kHz / 2878 kbps / 24-bit (AC3 Embedded: 2.0 / 48 kHz / 640 kbps)


Name            Time In         Length          Size            Total Bitrate
----            -------         ------          ----            -------------
00002.M2TS      0:00:00.000     0:56:34.974     6 869 200 896   16 187


%d bloggers like this: