Skip to content

Robert Smith, Israel Golani, Joshua Cheatham, Olivier Fortin – La Gracieuse: Pièces de Viole by Marin Marais (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Robert Smith, Israel Golani, Joshua Cheatham, Olivier Fortin – La Gracieuse: Pièces de Viole by Marin Marais (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:05:59 minutes | 1,15 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Resonus Classics

Critically acclaimed Amsterdam-based viola da gamba player, Robert Smith returns to Resonus to present a stunning programme of suites by the French Baroque composer Marin Marais, a prolific writer for the instrument. Selected from across Marais five volumes of Pièces de Viole, the album presents some of Marais most striking and characterful works, which are brought sensationally to life by Smith and his outstanding ensemble. Brought together specially for this recording, the group features harpsichordist Olivier Fortin, viola da gamba player Joshua Cheatham, and theorbo player and Baroque guitarist Israel Golani.

01. Suite in A Major: I. Prélude
02. Suite in A Major: II. Boutade
03. Suite in A Major: III. La Gracieuse
04. Suite in A Major: IV. Gigue à l’anglaise
05. Suite in A Major: V. Rondeau ‘moitié pincé’
06. Suite in A Major: VI. Fantaisie
07. Suite in E Minor: I. Prélude
08. Suite in E Minor: II. Fantaisie
09. Suite in E Minor: III. Sarabande à l’espagnol
10. Suite in E Minor: IV. La Matelotte
11. Suite in E Minor: V. Rondeau paysan
12. Suite in E Minor: VI. La Biscayenne (Tambourin)
13. Suite in E Minor: VII. Fugue gaie
14. Suite in G Minor: I. Prélude
15. Suite in G Minor: II. Caprice
16. Suite in G Minor: III. Sarabande
17. Suite in G Minor: IV. Gigue La Chicane
18. Suite in G Minor: V. Plainte
19. Suite in G Minor: VI. Menuet Fantasque
20. Suite in G Minor: VII. Fugue gaye
21. Suite in G Minor: VIIII. La Georgienne dite la Maupertuy
22. Suite in G Minor: IX. Fugue gaye (Double)
23. Suite in F-Sharp Minor: I. Prélude
24. Suite in F-Sharp Minor: II. Allemande
25. Suite in F-Sharp Minor: III. Courante
26. Suite in F-Sharp Minor: IV. Sarabande
27. Suite in F-Sharp Minor: V. Gigue
28. Suite in F-Sharp Minor: VI. Menuet
29. Suite in F-Sharp Minor: VII. Rondeau

Robert Smith (viola da gamba)
Israel Golani (viola da gamba)
Joshua Cheatham (viola da gamba)
Olivier Fortin (harpsichord)


%d bloggers like this: