Skip to content

Robert Plant & Alison Krauss – Raise the Roof (Deluxe) (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Robert Plant & Alison Krauss – Raise the Roof (Deluxe) (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 01:01:14 minutes | 1,27 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Warner Music UK

Thirteen years after the release of their surprise hit album Raising Sand, Robert Plant and Alison Krauss have finally reunited for a follow-LP, Raise the Roof. It comes out on November 19th, and you can check out leadoff single, a cover of the 1998 Lucinda Williams song “Can’t Let Go,” right here.

Raise the Roof was produced by T-Bone Burnett, who also worked with Plant and Krauss on Raising Sand. It features songs by Merle Haggard, Allen Toussaint, the Everly Brothers, and Bert Jancsh in addition to their original tune “High and Lonesome.”

The two singers were joined in the studio by drummer Jay Bellerose, guitarists Marc Ribot, David Hidalgo, Bill Frisell, and Buddy Miller, bassists Dennis Crouch and Viktor Krauss, and pedal steel guitarist Russ Pahl.

The druid Robert Plant and the country princess Alison Krauss first crossed paths in 2004 at a tribute concert to folk-bluesman Leadbelly. Two years later, they recorded their first album as a duo, Raising Sand, a precious gem of American music in the broadest sense, elevated by a repertoire based around selected covers with T Bone Burnett producing. This sequel arrives thirteen years on, but it is as if no time had passed at all. Right from the get go this second album boasts more or less the same hard core of musicians as the first: Marc Ribot on guitar, Jay Bellerose on drums, Dennis Crouch on double bass and of course old T Bone on the console. Except for one song, this is still a record made up of covers, fished out of the treasure chest of American music, from Don Everly and Hank Williams to Calexico, Allen Toussaint, Bert Jansch and Merle Haggard plus some others who are much more obscure. Take, for example, Randy Weeks or indeed Mrs Geeshie Wiley, whose Last Kind Words Blues is daringly covered here: one of the most sacred, mysterious and untouchable pieces of old-time blues. And they do it very well, without imitation, by taking it to an Appalachian place, somewhere “High and lonesome”, as the only song on the album written by Robert Plant is titled. Another example is the last track on the album, Lucinda Williams’ You Can’t Rule Me, which they make sound like a Howlin’ Wolf cover. Without exception, this record is a great moment of musical alchemy, a reunion of folk ghosts who would rather share a beer in the shadows, than go around spooking people. Robert Plant, Alison Krauss and the team never overdo it: their approach to this legendary American music is one of the utmost simplicity and freedom. And that’s only natural: they are a part of that tradition themselves. – Stéphane Deschamps

1. Robert Plant – Quattro (World Drifts In)
2. Robert Plant – The Price of Love
3. Robert Plant – Go Your Way
4. Robert Plant – Trouble with My Lover
5. Robert Plant – Searching For My Love
6. Robert Plant – Can’t Let Go
7. Robert Plant – It Don’t Bother Me
8. Robert Plant – You Led Me to The Wrong
9. Robert Plant – Last Kind Words Blues
10. Robert Plant – High and Lonesome
11. Robert Plant – Going Where the Lonely Go
12. Robert Plant – Somebody Was Watching Over Me
13. Robert Plant – My Heart Would Know
14. Robert Plant – You Can’t Rule Me


%d bloggers like this: