Skip to content

Raul Jaurena – Tango Bar (2001) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Raul Jaurena – Tango Bar (2001)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 50:53 minutes | 1,03 GB | Genre: Latin, Tango
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Digital booklet | © Chesky Records

Tango is one of the world’s most popular art forms. With its inherent sensuality and sexual overtones, it is no wonder that the tango has created intrigue throughout the world. The all-star musicians on this disc recreate traditional tangos, beautifully capturing the essence of the form with elegance and panache. Washington Galli, the vocalist, epitomizes the style of tango singing, adjusting to the constantly pulsating underlying rhythm while manifesting freedom of phrasing and interpretation. Despite the passage of time since these pieces were originally composed, the works remain fresh, as the tango remains a poignant expression of our deepest human emotions.

“The instrumental numbers, including the moving mid-tempo ‘Nostalgico’ and the jazzy, impressionistic ‘Nocturna,’ showcase the musical and emotional range of the tango as well as the superior musicianship of Raul Jaurena and company.” – Amazon

Truly one of the world’s premier bandoneonists, Raul Jaurena is a musical director, arranger, and composer as well as a musician, and though he was born in and frequently travels to Uruguay, he calls New York City home. For many years, he served as Musical Director of tango productions at the Thalia Spanish Theatre in Sunnyside, NY, where many of his own productions were staged. His recording catalog is brief yet notably includes the Latin Grammy Award-winning album Te Amo Tango (2007). In terms of influence, a performance alongside Astor Piazzolla at the Montreal Jazz Festival inspired him to adopt the master’s nuevo tango approach.

With its inherent sensuality and sexual overtones, it is no wonder that the Tango has created intrigue throughout the world. Bandoneonist, arranger and music director RAUL JAURE, bandoneonist TITO CASTRO, violinists LEONARDO SUAREZ and HUMBERTO RIDOLFI, bassist PABLO ASLAN, pianist ALLISON BREWSTER FRANZETTI and vocalist WASHINGTON GALLI recreate the sultry scene from the Tango bars of 1930s Argentina, beautifully capturing the essence of Tango with elegance and panache. Washington Galli, the singer, epitomizes the style of Tano singing, adjusting to the pulsating, underlying rhythm, while manifesting freedom of phrasingand interpretation, as can be heard on “Whisky,” “Como Dos Extranos” and the graceful “Por Una Cabeza.” Produced by the Grammy Award-winning CARLOS FRANZETTI.

01 – Nostalgico
02 – Como Dos Extranos
03 – Saludos
04 – Whisky
05 – A Orlando Goni
06 – A Los Amigos
07 – Por Una Cabeza
08 – Pa’ Que Bailen Los Muchachos
09 – Tanguera
10 – La Ultima Curda
11 – Nocturna
12 – Soledad
13 – El Firulete
14 – Toda Mi Vida
15 – Melodia De Arrabal
16 – Confesion
17 – Chique


%d bloggers like this: