Skip to content

Raspberries – Raspberries (1972/2013) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Raspberries – Raspberries (1972/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 35:19 minutes | 1,3 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front cover | © Capitol Records
Recorded: Record Plant Studios, New York City; Abbey Road Studios, London

Raspberries played their first show on October 16, 1970. Weekly gigs at the Agora in Cleveland created a groundswell of support for this new hot local band whose reputation as a live act was already becoming legendary, and before long they were attracting more than 1,000 people a night. Signed to Capitol Records by noted producer Jimmy Ienner in the winter of 1971, they completed their first album, Raspberries. To create excitement about this new band, Capitol employed a raspberry-scented scratch-and-sniff sticker affixed to the cover of their debut, the aroma of which exists to this day.

Released in early 1972, the album showcased the smash top 5 single, “Go All The Way”, which became a million-seller and Raspberries’ first gold record. Raspberries garnered rave notices from almost every music publication of the day with Rolling Stone providing their most impassioned review: “Raspberries opens with the finest burst of lightweight English rock I’’ve heard all year. The rest of the album is just as good.” Following the album’s release, Raspberries toured with the Grass Roots and the Hollies and appeared in front of over 50,000 fans at a major outdoor rock festival held at the Los Angeles Coliseum with such acts as Stevie Wonder, Sly & the Family Stone, the Bee Gees, the Eagles and Chuck Berry.

More than a few bands have spent their entire careers trying to achieve the pure pop perfection of “Go All the Way” by the Raspberries — and that was just the first three minutes and 22 seconds of the Raspberries’ first album. Raspberries never quite reaches the transcendent glory of its first cut again, but as a synthesis of British Invasion-era pop influences and ’70s rock crunch and drive, it’s all but faultless. While the Beatles, Who, and Hollies influences are pretty hard to miss, Eric Carmen and Wally Bryson could write songs strong enough to stand proudly beside their influences, and while Carmen was already beginning to display his penchant for treacle on tunes like “Waiting” and “I Can Remember,” producer Jimmy Ienner and the other bandmembers are able to reel him in when he gets too mushy. Even better, some solid rockers like “Rock & Roll Mama” and “Get It Moving” are on hand to kick things back into gear when needed, and this was one power pop band that wasn’t afraid to crank up the amps when the occasion called for it. A cracking debut from one of the great “guilty pleasure” bands of the 1970s, though there’s not a single good reason why anyone should feel bad about liking music this great. –AllMusic Review by Mark Deming

1 Go All The Way 3:19
2 Come Around And See Me 3:00
3 I Saw The Light 2:40
4 Rock & Roll Mama 4:35
5 Waiting 2:43
6 Don’t Want To Say Goodbye 5:00
7 With You In My Life 2:45
8 Get It Moving 2:25
9 I Can Remember 8:00

Eric Carmen – bass guitar, lead and backing vocals, piano
Wally Bryson – lead guitar, backing and lead vocals
Dave Smalley – rhythm guitar, backing and lead vocals
Jim Bonfanti – drums


%d bloggers like this: