Skip to content

Ralph Alessi – Baida (2013) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Ralph Alessi – Baida (2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 56:17 minutes | 1,10 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Artwork: Digital booklet | © ECM

Trumpeter Ralph Alessi makes his ECM debut as a bandleader with Baida, an album of atmospheric depth and melodic allure. To bring his compositions to life, Alessi assembled a powerhouse New York group consisting of pianist Jason Moran, bassist Drew Gress and drummer Nasheet Waits; the sessions were produced by multiple Grammy nominee and winner Manfred Eicher. As a vessel for the music’s seemingly bottomless lyricism, Alessi’s quartet plays with extraordinary finesse; however there is also a tensile strength emanating from the performances.

New York trumpeter Ralph Alessi has long been a fixture on the jazz scene, thanks to his inventive work with employers such as Steve Coleman, Ravi Coltrane and Uri Caine. But his ECM debut as bandleader, with the superb trio of Jason Moran (piano), Drew Gress (bass) and Nasheet Waits (drums) shows how much more there is to him without disrupting his particular eloquent calm. On these 10 pieces he sounds quietly wired and fascinated by what his partners are firing at him, while not remotely detached from his signature virtues of tonal purity and unflustered invention. All the pieces are his, from the initially free-fluttering title track with its soft trumpet doodles over slow-moving piano and percussion, through the delicately prancing Chuck Barris, to the weaving Throwing Like a Girl with its shivery snare-drum tattoo and prodding piano lines. Moran is as attuned to his surroundings as ever, Gress and Waits keep the pressure up but not the volume, and occasionally the whole set sounds eerily like the mid-60s Miles Davis quintet reinvented as a shyly slinky, contemporary-cool-jazz tribute.

01 – Baida
02 – Chuck Barris
03 – Gobble Goblins
04 – In-Flight Entertainment
05 – Sanity
06 – Maria Lydia
07 – Shank
08 – I Go, You Go
09 – Throwing Like A Girl
10 – 11/1/20
11 – Baida

Produced by Manfred Eicher. Engineered by James A. Farber
Recorded in October 2012 at Avatar Studios, New York.

Ralph Alessi – trumpet
Jason Moran – piano
Drew Gress – double-bass
Nasheet Waits – drums


%d bloggers like this: