Skip to content

Rachel Z – Grace (2005) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Rachel Z – Grace (2005)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 1:02:09 minutes | 1,31 GB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital Booklet | © Chesky Records

On Grace Rachel selects songs by U2, Nirvana, Kate Bush, Björk and John Lennon to mix with her own compositions binding the ten tracks of the album with spare arrangements and universal themes encompassing love, pain and growth. The simplicity of a trio consisting of Rachel’s piano, long-time collaborator Bobbie Rae’s signature drums/percussion and Chris J. Luard on bass, recorded with Chesky’s renowned minimalist miking techniques, creates a most intimate environment for such eloquent material.

“To connect with new listeners without selling out or dumbing down, Rachel has found a way to make the age-old piano trio relevant and fresh to younger ears”-

A very talented jazz pianist, Rachel Z. has always been interested in contemporary pop and rock music. Grace is a bit of a surprise for, in addition to her piano playing in a trio, Rachel sings on the majority of the selections. Her voice is expressive but just average and not on the same level as her work on piano. She apparently felt the need to express herself vocally, performing originals with her own lyrics plus songs by U2, Kurt Cobain, Kate Bush, Björk, and John Lennon (a spooky version of “Imagine”). Listeners primarily interested in Rachel’s jazz work will still consider most of Grace of interest because there are many piano solos and good close interplay by the trio even if it is not quite essential. In addition, fans of singer/songwriters who do not mind bits of jazz in their music will find Rachel to be well worth discovering.

01 – Protect This Child
02 – Moon In Your Hair
03 – One
04 – Grace
05 – Pain
06 – Come As You Are
07 – This Women’s Work
08 – Riot
09 – Joga
10 – Imagine

Main Artists Rachel Z
Chris J. Luard – bass
Bobbie Rae – drums, percussion
Rachel Z – piano, vocals

Producer David Chesky
Executive Producer Norman Chesky
Co-Producer Matthew Epstein, Lisa Hershfield
Engineer Nicholas Prout
Editing Engineer Nicholas Prout
Mastering Engineer Nicholas Prout
Recorded January 17-21, 2005.

This album was made with the purest audio path, using the very best microphones, mic preamps, analog-to-digital converters, recorders, and cables with careful attention to detail to produce the most transparent and natural sound available today.


%d bloggers like this: