Skip to content

R.E.M. – Monster (1994/2001) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

R.E.M. – Monster (1994/2001)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 48:58 minutes | 0.99 GB | Genre: Rock, Alternative
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Front cover | © Concord Records

R.E.M’s 9th studio album, released in 1994, including the single “What’s the Frequency, Kenneth?”. Debuted at #1 in the US.

After putting Athens, GA, on the musical map in the early ’80s, R.E.M. went on to become one of the world’s biggest bands. Their 9th album Monster, debuted at #1 and yielded one of the band’s biggest singles: “What’s the Frequency, Kenneth?” The record features the band at its most rocking and aggressive, with guitarist Peter Buck delivering some of his most memorable riffs and fills over some of the band’s most enduring songs.

Monster is indeed R.E.M.’s long-promised “rock” album; it just doesn’t rock in the way one might expect. Instead of R.E.M.’s trademark anthemic bashers, Monster offers a set of murky sludge, powered by the heavily distorted and delayed guitar of Peter Buck. Michael Stipe’s vocals have been pushed to the back of the mix, along with Bill Berry’s drums, which accentuates the muscular pulse of Buck’s chords. From the androgynous sleaze of “Crush With Eyeliner” to the subtle, Eastern-tinged menace of “You,” most of the album sounds dense, dirty, and grimy, which makes the punchy guitars of “What’s the Frequency, Kenneth?” and the warped soul of “Tongue” all the more distinctive. Monster doesn’t have the conceptual unity or consistently brilliant songwriting of Automatic for the People, but it does offer a wide range of sonic textures that have never been heard on an R.E.M. album before.

01 – What’s the Frequency, Kenneth?
02 – Crush with Eyeliner
03 – King of Comedy
04 – I Don’t Sleep, I Dream
05 – Star 69
06 – Strange Currencies
07 – Tongue
08 – Bang and Blame
09 – I Took Your Name
10 – Let Me In
11 – Circus Envy
12 – You


%d bloggers like this: