Skip to content

R.E.M. – Fables Of The Reconstruction (1985/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

R.E.M. – Fables Of The Reconstruction (1985/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 39:47 minutes | 1,71 GB | Genre: Rock, Alternative
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Front cover | © Capitol Records

Fables of the Reconstruction is R.E.M.’s third studio album and was released on June 10, 1985. It was recorded in February – March 1985 at Livingston Studios in London, UK and was produced by Joe Boyd. The album marked a distinct stylistic departure from the band’s previous two records, with producer Joe Boyd being best known for his work with modern English folk musicians such as Fairport Convention and Nick Drake. Fables of the Reconstruction explores the mythology and landscape of the American South, and the album can be considered a concept record by R.E.M. standards.

Fables of the Reconstruction peaked at #28 on the U.S. Billboard 200 and #35 on the UK Albums Chart in 1985, and the album was certified Gold by the RIAA on June 24, 1991.

For their third album, R.E.M. made a conscious effort to break from the traditions Murmur and Reckoning established, electing to record in England with legendary folk-rock producer Joe Boyd. For a variety of reasons, the sessions were difficult, and that tension is apparent throughout Fables of the Reconstruction. A dark, moody rumination on American folk – not only the music, but its myths – Fables is creepy, rustic psychedelic folk, filled with eerie sonic textures. Some light breaks through occasionally, such as the ridiculous collegiate blue-eyed soul of “Can’t Get There From Here,” but the group’s trademark ringing guitars and cryptic lyrics have grown sinister, giving even sing-alongs like “Driver 8” an ominous edge. Fables is more inconsistent than its two predecessors, but the group does demonstrate considerable musical growth, particularly in how perfectly it evokes the strange rural legends of the South. And many of the songs on the record – including “Feeling Gravitys Pull,” “Maps and Legends,” “Green Grow the Rushes,” “Auctioneer (Another Engine),” and the previously mentioned pair – rank among the group’s best.

01 – Feeling Gravitys Pull
02 – Maps And Legends
03 – Driver 8
04 – Life And How To Live It
05 – Old Man Kensey
06 – Can’t Get There From Here
07 – Green Grow The Rushes
08 – Kohoutek
09 – Auctioneer (Another Engine)
10 – Good Advices
11 – Wendell Gee

Michael Stipe – lead vocals (credited as “JM Stipe – Gaffer Interpreter”)
Mike Mills – bass guitar, piano, vocals (credited as “ME Mills – Consolate Mediator”)
Peter Buck – guitar, banjo, harmonica (credited as “PL Buck – Ministry of Music”)
Bill Berry – drums, vocals (credited as “WT Berry – Best Boy”)

Additional musicians:
David Bitelli – tenor and baritone saxophone on “Cant Get There from Here”
Camilla Brunt – violin on “Feeling Gravitys Pull”
Jim Dvorak – trumpet on “Cant Get There from Here”
Philippa Ibbotson – violin on “Feeling Gravitys Pull”
David Newby – cello on “Feeling Gravitys Pull”
Peter Thomas – tenor saxophone on “Cant Get There from Here”

Joe Boyd – production
Berry Clempson – engineering
Tony Harris – engineering


%d bloggers like this: