Skip to content

R.E.M. – Accelerate (2008/2014/2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

R.E.M. – Accelerate (2008/2014/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 34:38 minutes | 450 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: PonoMusic | Artwork: Front cover | © Concord Records

For years, R.E.M. promised that their next album would be a rocker, an oath to fans that perhaps made sense during the early ’90s, when they were exploring the pastoral fields of Out of Time and the gloomy folk of Automatic for the People, but in the years after Bill Berry’s 1997 departure, the desire of longtime fans for the group to rock again was merely a code word for the wish that R.E.M. would sound like a band again. Apart from a few fleeting moments – “The Great Beyond,” their “Man in the Moon” re-write for the 1999 Andy Kaufman biopic, Man in the Moon; “Bad Day,” a mid-’80s outtake revived for a greatest-hits album – R.E.M. not only didn’t sound like a band, but they seemed at odds with themselves and their very strengths, culminating in the amorphous, mummified Around the Sun, a record so polished and overworked it didn’t sound a bit like R.E.M., not even like the art-pop outfit the band turned into after Berry’s retirement. It was a situation so dire that the band recognized the need for corrective steering, so they stripped themselves down to bare-bones for 2008’s Accelerate.

01 – Living Well Is The Best Revenge
02 – Man-Sized Wreath
03 – Supernatural Superserious
04 – Hollow Man
05 – Houston
06 – Accelerate
07 – Until The Day Is Done
08 – Mr. Richards
09 – Sing For The Submarine
10 – Horse To Water
11 – I’m Gonna DJ


%d bloggers like this: