Quincy Jones – Go West, Man! (Remastered) (1957/2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Quincy Jones – Go West, Man! (Remastered) (1957/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 43:01 minutes | 372 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © RevOla

There is a bit of mis-information surrounding this album, and I’ve seen more than one inaccurate review, so to clear up a few things first, “Go West Man” is not a big band album and the arrangements on here are not by Quincy Jones. Although there is some good music on here, in some ways, this second album in Quincy Jones’ young career is somewhat of a disappointment. Jones’ first album was a great success and revealed a young big band arranger with some fresh new sounds, so I would imagine his new fans were disappointed to find out that Jones only served as a conductor and producer, not arranger, on his follow-up LP. There are three different mid-sized groups that Jones works with on here, including two groups led by saxophone summits and one group led by a trumpet quartet. All three groups have a piano, bass and drums rhythm section. Each of the three groups is given three songs which leads to nine songs total on the album if you are keeping score at home.

All three of these groups are very talented, but possible top honors goes to an all-star sax five-some that includes Art Pepper and Charlie Mariano. The west coast sax players are known for their silky smooth ensemble work, and this group is a good example. The liner notes claim the other sax group is made up of three tenors, but there is quite clearly a fourth man on baritone, and one of the supposed tenors sounds suspiciously high. The arrangements for the nine tracks were provided by Jimmy Giuffre, Lennie Niehaus and Charlie Mariano. “London Derriere”, with its striking sounds made up of trumpets with Harmon mutes, is the arrangement that sounds the most like Quincy. This album is recommended for fans of west coast jazz, there so much great saxophone playing on here, both in ensemble and in solos, but Quincy Jones fans may be disappointed by the somewhat misleading presentation and slap together nature of this album.

1. Quincy Jones – Dancing Pants (Remastered) (03:49)
2. Quincy Jones – Blues Day (Remastered) (04:42)
3. Quincy Jones – Bright Moon (Remastered) (05:20)
4. Quincy Jones – No Bones At All (Remastered) (03:57)
5. Quincy Jones – The Oom Is Blues (Remastered) (05:09)
6. Quincy Jones – Be My Guest (Remastered) (04:29)
7. Quincy Jones – What’s New, We’ll Be Togther Again, Time On My Hands, You Go To My Head, Laura (Remastered) (06:19)
8. Quincy Jones – London Derriere (Remastered) (04:06)
9. Quincy Jones – King’s Road Blues (Remastered) (05:06)




Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: