Quadriga Consort – Winter’s Delights: Early Christmas Music and Carols from the British Isles (2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

(Last Updated On: August 13, 2022)

Quadriga Consort – Winter’s Delights: Early Christmas Music and Carols from the British Isles (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 58:53 minutes | 1,10 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © deutsche harmonia mundi

“Summer hath his joys, and Winter his delights” – these words, written by Thomas Campion (1567–1620) perfectly describe the attraction of the winter season. Although nature may be in a slumber, we people have found ways to amuse ourselves with long evenings of conversation, accompanied by music and wine, or snuggling up in front of the fireplace with a big mug of a nice, warm beverage, or with physical activities such as skiing or tobogganing. We’ve also invented a large number of holidays that we can look forward to and rely on to bring cheer into this dark and sun-less period.

However, despite all attempts at merriment, it cannot be denied that winter is a cruel and inhospitable time of year and it is often used as a metaphor for a cold heart or unrequited love in ancient ballads.
It is this contrast that makes winter so intense: cold and warmth, companionship and solitude, affection and rejection, darkness and light – and, ultimately, life and death.

01. Quadriga Consort – The First Nowell (04:11)
02. Quadriga Consort – Gloomy Winter (01:18)
03. Quadriga Consort – Leanabh an Àigh (The Blessed Child) (03:39)
04. Quadriga Consort – Tune No. 172 (03:19)
05. Quadriga Consort – The Three Kings (03:06)
06. Quadriga Consort – On This Day (04:40)
07. Quadriga Consort – Noël Nouvelet – Sing We Now of Christmas (03:20)
08. Quadriga Consort – Sweet Baby, Sleep! (04:00)
09. Quadriga Consort – O Come, O Come, Emmanuel (03:37)
10. Quadriga Consort – The Traveller Benighted in Snow (03:31)
11. Quadriga Consort – Early in the Morning/ The Ivy Leaf/ Christmas Comes But Once a Year (03:06)
12. Quadriga Consort – Fare Thee Well, Cold Winter (04:16)
13. Quadriga Consort – Blessed be that Maid Marie (03:59)
14. Quadriga Consort – A Merry Christmas (01:59)
15. Quadriga Consort – Winter’s Delights (03:22)
16. Quadriga Consort – Gloucestershire Wassail (02:56)
17. Quadriga Consort – The Stormy Scenes of Winter (04:24)

Quadriga Consort:
Elisabeth Kaplan, voice
Angelika Huemer, recorders, treble viol
Karin Silldorff, recorders
Dominika Teufel, tenor viol
Philipp Comploi, basse de violon
Laurenz Schiffermüller, percussion
Nikolaus Newerkla, harpsichord, vibrandoneon, voice, arrangements, composition, direction


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: