Skip to content

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky – The Complete Orchestral Suites – New Philharmonia Orchestra, Antal Dorati (1966/2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky – The Complete Orchestral Suites – New Philharmonia Orchestra, Antal Dorati (1966/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 02:23:35 minutes | 2,89 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | @ Mercury Records/Decca
Recorded: August 16–21, 1966, in Watford Town Hall, London

When this album was originally released in 1966, it marked the first time all four of Tchaikovsky suites for orchestra were collected on one package. Antal Doráti directs the New Philharmonia Orchestra on a very generous recording, running over two hours, boasting spectacular sound considering the age of the performances. In a review of Doráti’s works, said this album is “now an audiophile collector’s item.”

„Newly remastered in fine sound, and the reissue album offers the finest ever recordings of Tchaikovsky’s four delicious orchestral suites. Of the major orchestral works, these pieces have been mostly dismissed and neglected–shamefully so, as they contain some very fine music. Once in a while someone trots out the finale of the Third Suite, or the Fourth (based on music by Mozart) gets a little exposure, but that’s about it. The reason is simple: none of these works is an emotional heavyweight–they really reflect nothing more than the composer’s desire to make some pretty music. For most listeners, that will be reason enough to want to hear them.“ –David Hurwitz, ClassicsToday

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840–1893)
Suite for Orchestra No.1 in D minor, Op.43
1. 1. Introduction and Fugue 12:32
2. 2. Divertimento 05:45
3. 3. Intermezzo 08:06
4. 4. Marche miniature 01:55
5. 5. Scherzo 07:56
6. 6. Gavotte 06:23
Suite for Orchestra No.2 in C, Op.53
7. 1. Jeu de sons 11:28
8. 2. Valse 05:38
9. 3. Scherzo burlesque 05:08
10. 4. Rêves d’enfant 09:04
11. 5. Danse baroque 04:07
Suite for Orchestra No.3 in G, Op.55
12. 1. Elégie 10:55
13. 2. Valse mélancolique 05:51
14. 3. Scherzo 04:34
15. 4. Tema con variazioni 19:23
Suite for Orchestra No.4 in G, Op.61
16. 1. Gigue 01:46
17. 2. Menuet 03:29
18. 3. Preghiera 04:55
19. 4. Thème et variations 14:46

New Philharmonia Orchestra
Antal Dorati, conductor


%d bloggers like this: