Skip to content

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky – Piano Trio – Vladimir Ashkenazy, Itzhak Perlman, Lynn Harrell (2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky – Piano Trio – Vladimir Ashkenazy, Itzhak Perlman, Lynn Harrell (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz  | Time – 00:49:17 minutes | 904 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz | Digital Booklet | © Warner Classics
Recorded: CBS Studios, New York, 24–26 January 1980

Throughout his recording career, Itzhak Perlman has shown a real attraction for the trio repertoire. Following the lead of such eminent predecessors as Jascha Heifetz, David Oistrakh and Isaac Stern, he has formed lasting chamber relationships with other, equally talented musicians. He recorded the major works of the trio repertoire for EMI with Russian-born pianist Vladimir Ashkenazy and American cellist Lynn Harrell – notably the works of Beethoven and Brahms. In later years they also recorded the Ravel Trio (this time for Decca), while Perlman also added the two Mendelssohn trios to his discography, on that occasion working with Emanuel Ax and Yo-Yo Ma (for Sony). The first album released by Perlman, Ashkenazy and Harrell was devoted to the Tchaikovsky Piano Trio, a work well served by the recording industry, having been immortalised in the 1950s by three legendary versions laid down by the Oistrakh Trio, the grouping of Kogan, Gilels and Rostropovich, and the famous “million-dollar trio” of Heifetz, Rubinstein and Piatigorsky respectively (Zukerman, Barenboim and Du Pré later joined forces and recorded an impassioned live version for EMI in 1972). Tchaikovsky composed the work in homage to his late friend the pianist-composer Nikolai Rubinstein, brother of Anton. He had gone to see Rubinstein’s body, after his funeral service, and in the Trio expressed a sense of death’s physical, haunting presence and a genuine, scarcely bearable terror, which he was to develop further in The Queen of Spades. Although he had often condemned the very form of the piano trio, arguing that his “ears would not accept the combination of piano, violin and cello”, and even writing that he found it “real torture to listen to a trio or a sonata with violin or cello”, it somehow came to be the natural choice for this memorial on a grand scale. The piano symbolised the now-silenced voice of Rubinstein, the violin and cello those of his old friends, Tchaikovsky himself and his patroness Madame von Meck. A work of tact and restraint, free from any excess of sentiment, the Trio, Op.50 “to the memory of a great artist” remained in manuscript form for over a year before the composer agreed to its publication in 1883, thereby allowing it to take its place among the masterpieces of the genre. –Jean-Michel Molkhou

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
Piano Trio in A minor, Op.50 “À la mémoire d’un grand artiste”
1 I Pezzo elegiaco: Moderato assai — Allegro giusto — Adagio con duolo e ben sostenuto — Allegro giusto 18.33
II Tema con variazioni
2 Tema: Andante con moto — 1.06
3 Var. I: L’istesso tempo — 0.58
4 Var. II: Più mosso — 0.37
5 Var. III: Allegro moderato — 0.58
6 Var. IV: L’istesso tempo — 1.17
7 Var. V: L’istesso tempo — 0.44
8 Var. VI: Tempo di valse — 2.36
9 Var. VII: Allegro moderato — 1.19
10 Var. VIII: Fuga: Allegro moderato — 2.31
11 Var. IX: Andante flebile, ma non tanto — 3.11
12 Var. X: Tempo di mazurka — 1.46
13 Var. XI: Moderato — 2.19
14 Variazione finale e coda: Allegro risoluto e con fuoco — Andante con moto 11.28

Vladimir Ashkenazy, piano
Itzhak Perlman, violin
Lynn Harrell, cello


%d bloggers like this: