Skip to content

Pumeza Matshikiza – Arias (2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Pumeza Matshikiza – Arias (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 52:30 minutes | 980 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: PrestoClassical | Artwork: Digital booklet | © Decca

South African lyric soprano Pumeza Matshikiza is one of today’s rising opera stars. An exclusive Decca Classics recording artist, her debut album ‘Voice of Hope’ was released in 2014. Her second album ‘Arias’ released in May 2016 showcasing her operatic roles from Purcell to Puccini and newly arranged art songs by Faure, Hahn and Tosti.

Pumeza’s second album ARIAS is a collection of many of the great opera roles in which Pumeza has blossomed: Mimì in La Boheme; Susanna in Le Nozze di Figaro; Liù in Turandot; Dido in Dido & Aeneas; Concepcion in L’heure espagnole together with such operatic greatest hits as ‘The Song to the Moon’ from Rusalka and ‘Ebben, ne andro lontano’ from La Wally.

The album also features new arrangements of art songs such as Faure’s ‘Après un rêve’ and Reynaldo Hahn’s A Chloris as well as a Rosa Ponselle favourite, Tosti’s ‘Si tu le voulais’

Also included are arrangements of Sarti’s famous aria ‘Lungi del caro bene’ made by DECCA for Renata Tebaldi in the 1970s and recorded here for the first time since then and an arrangement of the classic song ‘La Paloma’ originally made for Victoria de los Angeles.

01 – Puccini: Si Mi Chiamano Mimì (La Bohème)
02 – Catalani: Ebben! Ne Andro Lontana (La Wally)
03 – Puccini: Senza Mamma (Suor Angelica)
04 – Dvorák: Song to the Moon (Rusalka)
05 – Puccini: Tu Che Di Gel Sei Cinta (Turandot)
06 – Ravel: Oh! la Pityoable Aventure! (L’heure Espagnole)
07 – Yradier: La Paloma
08 – Montsalvatge: Punto Da Habanera
09 – Tosti: Si Tu Le Voulais
10 – Fauré: Après Un Rêve
11 – Hahn: A Chloris
12 – Sarti: Lungi Dal Caro Bene
13 – Mozart: Le nozze di Figaro, K.492 / Act 3: ‘Giunse alfin il momento’
14 – Mozart: Deh Vieni Non Tardar (Le Nozze Di Figaro)
15 – Gluck: Che Fiero Momento (Orfeo Ed Euridice)
16 – Purcell: Dido’s Lament (Dido and Aeneas, Z.626 / Act 3: ‘When I am laid in earth’)

Pumeza Matshikiza – soprano
Aarhus Symfonieorkester, Conducted by Tobias Ringborg.


Pumeza Matshikiza – Voice of Hope (2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

%d bloggers like this: