Porcupine Tree – In Absentia (Remastered) (2002/2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Porcupine Tree – In Absentia (Remastered) (2002/2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:08:41 minutes | 1,33 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Kscope

For the first time since their original release, they have also been remastered by PT songwriter and frontman, Steven Wilson. The new mastering has considerably less compression and limiting for a more dynamic listening experience. In Absentia was the band’s seventh studio album, first released in 2002, and was the first in a run of 3 albums that for many represent the pinnacle of the band’s artistic achievements. It was something of a breakthrough for the band, selling three times more than previous releases. Following on from 2000’s Lightbulb Sun it had a distinctly heavier tone, partly due to the addition of legendary drummer Gavin Harrison, and was also their first for major label Lava / Atlantic Records. In Absentia features many of Porcupine Tree’s most loved songs including “Trains”, “The Sound of Muzak” and “Blackest Eyes”. While not a formal concept album, many of the songs have common themes related to serial killers, youthful innocence gone wrong, and observations of the modern world, setting a template for many of Wilson’s future songs. These new vinyl editions will be released on double heavyweight audiophile 180g black vinyl presented in gatefold packaging.

Despite already existing for exactly 15 years, Porcupine Tree released its best album yet with In Absentia, or at least one of its most notable. Stepping away from their perhaps over-used psychedelic experimentation, the band decided to adopt a beefed up heavy/prog rock approach, combining influences from Led Zeppelin and Black Sabbath with Queensrÿche and Dream Theater. This could have been down to the change of drummers from Chris Maitland to Gavin Harrison, but the singer and main songwriter Steven Wilson was also a catalyst for this change. This stylistic shift is explained by his newfound familiarity with the book that would go on to inspire Jonas Åkerlund’s shocking film Lords of Chaos, dedicated to the somewhat extreme Scandinavian black metal scene. His outlook after that would be forever altered, and the album cover would just have to be scary, without forgetting the three main themes: serial killers, the loss of youthful innocence, and a criticism of the modern world.

However In Absentia isn’t the soundtrack to a slasher film, but rather an album that tries to understand why certain individuals go through with the awful things they do. Lips Of Ashes tells the story of a guy madly in love with someone – but the feeling isn’t mutual – so he kills the object of his attention so that they belong to him forever, whereas The Creator Has a Mastertape is the story of a father who tortures his son and records it so he can listen on repeat… But while the album kicks off with a guitar-heavy introduction (Blackest Eyes), the rest is a lot more accessible, wavering between ballads and soaring melodies. Radiohead, Pink Floyd, Marillion and even U2 are just a few of the names that come to mind when listening. A long 68-minute album that ends with a beautiful piano-voice combination Collapse the Light Into the Earth. – Christian Eudeline

01. Porcupine Tree – Blackest Eyes (Remastered) (04:24)
02. Porcupine Tree – Trains (Remastered) (06:00)
03. Porcupine Tree – Lips Of Ashes (Remastered) (04:42)
04. Porcupine Tree – The Sound Of Muzak (Remastered) (04:59)
05. Porcupine Tree – Gravity Eyelids (Remastered) (08:00)
06. Porcupine Tree – Wedding Nails (Remastered) (06:33)
07. Porcupine Tree – Prodigal (Remastered) (05:36)
08. Porcupine Tree – .3 (Remastered) (05:26)
09. Porcupine Tree – The Creator Has A Mastertape (Remastered) (05:20)
10. Porcupine Tree – Heartattack In A Layby (Remastered) (04:33)
11. Porcupine Tree – Strip The Soul (Remastered) (07:17)
12. Porcupine Tree – Collapse The Light Into Earth (Remastered) (05:47)




Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: