Skip to content

Pierre Hantai – Scarlatti, Vol. 6 (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Pierre Hantaï – Scarlatti, Vol. 6 (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:18:16 minutes | 1,59 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Mirare

No one is so eminently personal as Scarlatti: he obeys no rules but his own. When he arrived in Portugal at the age of thirty-four, he was still no more than a conventional composer, overshadowed by his father, even if he had made a reputation as an outstanding virtuoso. But the discovery of new cultures had a revelatory effect on him.

This volume 6 continues Pierre Hantaï’s exploration of the sonatas of Scarlatti.

Since setting off in the early 2000s, Pierre Hantaï is still journeying into Domenico Scarlatti’s world. After a hiatus of more than ten years following the third volume, the harpsichordist finally recorded a fourth volume in 2016 and this autumn sees the sixth one come into bloom, once again superbly recorded in Haarlem in the Netherlands by Nicolas Bartholomée. Pierre Hantaï is taking his time to gradually construct a perfect anthology of Scarlatti’s keyboard work. Here, he explores some of his little-known sonatas. His keyboard intensifies the profound rhythmic force of Scarlatti’s world: the sharp lines burst forth, the harmonic tension constantly explodes, the new tones are revealed smoothly, and his playing – with an exhilarating left hand – is stunning throughout. The first five sonatas of this new release (all of which have a fairly fast tempo) form a representative ensemble of a rather uncompromising Scarlatti, followed by a moment of gravity and meditation with the exquisite Sonata in F minor, K. 69, while the surrounding Sonatas K. 502 and K. 43 (with a wonderfully volatile left hand) have clearly marked rhythms. The style and atmosphere changes with Sonata in C major, K. 384, whose tender “French” tone is emphasised by Pierre Hantaï, and at the same time there’s an almost modern feel which goes beyond even Soler’s most audacious scores. Fascinating! While the tender sonatas (K. 550, K. 544) distil an aftertaste that is slightly more spicy than the previous volumes, what continues to surprise us with Hantaï in this repertoire is his prolonged search for a “Hispanic” feel – a Spain in a majestic trance, with colliding rhythms and contrasting accents and registers.
Let’s hope that Pierre Hantaï does not wait another ten years to deliver the seventh volume; there is no doubt that these Scarlatti recordings will remain one of the most exciting and necessary musical adventures of the 21st century. A perfectly captured sound, style and universe. – Pierre-Yves Lascar

1. Keyboard Sonata in D Major, K. 119 (05:58)
2. Keyboard Sonata in D Major, K. 179 (03:06)
3. Keyboard Sonata in G Minor, K. 234 (06:20)
4. Keyboard Sonata in C Major, K. 501 (06:49)
5. Keyboard Sonata in C Major, K. 502 (04:32)
6. Keyboard Sonata in F Minor, K. 69 (04:59)
7. Keyboard Sonata in G Minor, K. 43 (03:07)
8. Keyboard Sonata in C Major, K. 384 (04:38)
9. Keyboard Sonata in C Major, K. 487 (04:13)
10. Keyboard Sonata in C Major, K. 170 (06:51)
11. Keyboard Sonata in F Major, K. 6 (03:02)
12. Keyboard Sonata in B-Flat Major, K. 550 (05:01)
13. Keyboard Sonata in D Minor, K. 18 (03:26)
14. Keyboard Sonata in B-Flat Major, K. 544 (04:51)
15. Keyboard Sonata in B-Flat Major, K. 273 (04:10)
16. Keyboard Sonata in D Major, K. 161 (03:21)
17. Keyboard Sonata in G Major, K. 477 (03:52)

Pierre Hantaï (harpsichord)


%d bloggers like this: