Skip to content

Phoebe Snow – Phoebe Snow (1974/2013) [Official Digital Download 24bit/176.4kHz]

Phoebe Snow – Phoebe Snow (1974/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/176.4kHz  | Time – 00:36:23 minutes | 1,40 GB | Genre: Soft Rock, Folk Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: | © Capitol Records
Recorded: 1973, A&R Studio, N.Y.C.

Phoebe Snow died at the age of 60, but her art will live forever. Her debut album witnesses a masterful nine-track lineup. Most of the songs were written by a 23-year old Phoebe Snow, including her best-known smash hit “Poetry Man. Snow was renowned for her elastic contralto and jazz scat vocals; this album became as legendary as her career, which spanned decades.

It’s been said many times that being difficult to categorize or pigeonhole can be the kiss of death commercially, and no one bears that out more than Phoebe Snow — a pearl of a singer who never caught on because she simply didn’t fit neatly into any one category. Known primarily for her haunting single “Poetry Man,” this self-titled classic (which was recorded in 1973 and released on LP in 1974) found the earthy vocalist drawing on everything from folk and pop to soul, jazz, and blues. If anyone has bridged the gap between Joni Mitchell and Aretha Franklin, it’s Snow, who is as confident on the soul-influenced “Good Times” as she is on the introspective jazz offering “Harpo’s Blues.” In fact, many of the players backing Snow are jazzmen, including cool jazz great Zoot Sims (tenor sax) and piano legend Teddy Wilson. With as many risks as she takes, the album is generally quite accessible. –Alex Henderson

1 Let The Good Times 2:40
2 Harpo’s Blues 4:22
3 Poetry Man 4:36
4 Either Or Both 3:52
5 San Francisco Bay Blues 3:29
6 I Don’t Want The Night To End 3:55
7 Take Your Children Home 4:16
8 It Must Be Sunday 5:50
9 No Show Tonight 2:57

Phoebe Snow – acoustic guitar, guitar, vocals
David Bromberg – acoustic guitar, dobro, guitar, rhythm guitar
Steve Burgh – electric guitar
Ron Carter – bass
Chuck Domanico – bass
Steve Gadd – drums
Chuck Israels – bass, acoustic bass
Bob James – organ, keyboard
Hilary James – organ
Ralph MacDonald – percussion
Dave Mason – guitar
Hugh McDonald – bass, electric bass, electric guitar
Steve McDonald – electric guitar
Steve Mosley – percussion, drums
The Persuasions – vocals, background vocals
Margaret Ross – harp
Zoot Sims – saxophone, tenor saxophone
Teddy Wilson – piano



%d bloggers like this: