Skip to content

Philip Glass – In the summer house – Angela & Jennifer Chun, Nico Muhly (2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Philip Glass – In the summer house – Angela & Jennifer Chun, Nico Muhly (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 56:57 minutes | 1,05 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital Booklet | © Harmonia Mundi
Recorded: July, 2014 at The Concert Hall, Drew University, Madison, New Jersey

This recital of music, especially written or arranged for violinists Angela and Jennifer Chun, highlights the personal and professional connections between Philip Glass and Nico Muhly, a longtime colleague and admirer of Glass s work. Nico Muhly first listened to Philip Glass ‘Music in Twelve Parts’ in his freshman year of college, while riding the subway in New York. Within a year of that subway encounter, Muhly found himself working at Glass studio as a copyist, editor, and sequencer for film scores. Here Glass is presented not as the author of mammoth pieces like ‘Music in Twelve Parts’, but as a miniaturist; a role shared with Muhly, who rarely composes in epic mode. The making of this recording has been an inspiring journey for the Chung Duo: a 2009 meeting with the Dalai Lama affected the sisters deeply and led them to the music of Philip Glass, whose ‘Mad Rush’ (here transcribed by Alexandra du Bois for two violins) had been composed for His Holiness first visit to North America in 1981.

Nico Muhly (b.1981)
Four Studies
1. I. Suspensions 04:24
2. II. Fast Canons 03:51
3. III. Slow Canons 03:52
4. IV. Open notes 02:56
5. Honest Music 07:17
Philip Glass (b.1937)
6. Mad Rush 14:48
In The Summer House
7. I. In the Summer House
– II. My One and Only Hope
– III. Gertrude’s Pradise 03:28
8. IV. Mr. Solares’ Picnic Lunch. V. [-] 02:47
9. VI. Molly Is a Dreamer
– VII. Enter Vivian
– VIII. The Beach/Lionel & Molly 02:35
10. XI. Vivian’s Death [conclusion]
– XII. Gertrude Leaves Summer House 02:41
11. XIII. Left Alone 01:01
12. XIV. The Lobster Bowl
– XV. Back to Sad Things.
– XVI. I Knew You Would Come Back [excerpt]
– XI. Vivian’s Death [beginning] 03:13
13. XVII. When I was a Little Girl 03:43

Angela Chun, violin
Jennifer Chun, violin
Nico Muhly, piano


%d bloggers like this: