Skip to content

Phil Parfitt – Mental Home Recordings (2020/2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Phil Parfitt – Mental Home Recordings (2020/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 54:23 minutes | 546 MB | Genre: Folk, Rock, Alternative
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front cover | © A Turntable Friend Records

‘Mental Home Recordings’ is the second solo album from singer-songwriter Philip Parfitt. Having previously made his name in the 80s with alt-rockers, The Perfect Disaster, his latest offering is a far cry from his Velvet Underground-influenced former band, with the rawness in sound now replaced by a rawness of feeling. After their demise, Parfitt now under the name Oedipussy produced 1994’s sublime ‘Divan’. A slick record, it soared, purred, and pulsated with lush rhythms and sexy grooves. Parfitt duly disappeared, shunning the music industry, and relocated to an old mill in France. Critically, though, he never stopped writing and twenty years later in 2014, out of the bleu, he re-emerged with is solo debut; the self-released ‘I’m Not the Man I Used to Be’. Organic and honest, it came very much from the soul and saw a wiser, gentler Philip Parfitt come back into the fray. It was a very welcome and surprising extension to what has been a long musical journey for Parfitt.


01. Philip Parfitt – Somebody Called Me In
02. Philip Parfitt – All Fucked Up
03. Philip Parfitt – If I Wake Up
04. Philip Parfitt – Don‘t Wait (Until I Am Dead Before You Tell Me That You Love Me)
05. Philip Parfitt – John Clare
06. Philip Parfitt – I Saw There Beside Me
07. Philip Parfitt – Bones Cold
08. Philip Parfitt – My Love
09. Philip Parfitt – Are We Really Still The Same
10. Philip Parfitt – Of Nothing In Particular


%d bloggers like this: