Skip to content

Phil Kline – Around The World In A Daze (2009) [DVD-Audio ISO]

Phil Kline ā€“ Around The World In A Daze
Artist: Phil Kline | Album: Around The World In A Daze | Style: Electronic, Experimental, Meditation | Year: 2009 | Quality: DVD-Audio (MLP 5.1 48kHz/24Bit, DTS 5.1, Dolby AC3 5.1, LPCM 2.0 48kHz/24Bit) + bonus DVD (DTS 5.1, Dolby AC3 5.1, LPCM 2.0 48kHz/16Bit) | Bitrate: lossless | Tracks: 10+3 | Size: ~4.06 + 2.46 Gb | Recovery: 5% | Covers: in archive | Release: Starkland (S-2015), 2009 | Note: Not Watermarked

DVD-Audio release, total Content: 110 min. NTSC format, All Region. “Leading new-music composer Phil Kline debuts a major work on this new surround sound DVD. Heard here for the first time, this 65-minute studio composition was commissioned by Starkland to premiere on this high-resolution surround-sound DVD. Daze is Kline’s longest work and biggest commission to date. Daze is also likely the largest work so far commissioned for a high-resolution surround-sound recording. Performers include the uber-cool Ethel string quartet and violin virtuoso Todd Reynolds. Surround-sound tracks place listeners inside wondrous boombox choirs, an ethereal Ethel string quartet, a weird madrigal, hyper-dense bells (hundreds of thousands at one point), richly mournful multi-tracked vocals, soaring violinistics, and an immersive environment of 15,000 African gray parrots. The release also offers a second Extras DVD with a composer-produced music video and a 30-minute interview with Kline and John Schaefer. The custom 5″x10″ digipak includes a 24-page booklet. The two DVDs contain a total content of 110 minutes. This release follows Starkland’s groundbreaking surround-sound Immersion DVD, now recognized as the first commissioned high-resolution surround-sound recording. Immersion won praise from Sound & Vision, Stereophile, Billboard, etc. and was the #1 best-selling DVD-Audio at Amazon for nearly a year. The main disc offers Daze in several formats for various home playback setups: the standard Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround, DTS 5.1, and high-resolution audiophile DVD-Audio, as well as a stereo version. Playback of the Daze music is accompanied by over 80 images shot by Kline.”



01. The Housatonic at Henry Street
For Ives the river of life, running right by my window.
Electronica and tape orchestra. Field recording: Henry Street at Rutgers, evening in July.

02. Svarga Yatra
An uphill climb. It might mean Stairway to Heaven in Sanskrit.
Performed by Ethel (Todd Reynolds and Mary Rowell, violins, Ralph Farris, viola, Dorothy Lawson, cello) with tape choir.

03. The Maryland Sample
A madrigal about love and science, bitterness and bees.
Performed by Kamala Sankaram (vocals) and Phil Kline (vocals, strings and percussion). Field recording: bug zappers on Nicola Teslas porch

04. Pennies from Heaven
The trickle down theory. Everything is falling. Every time it rains it rains.
Tape orchestra

05. On the Waterfront
This is not a recording, but something happening right now in Istanbul.
06. Luv U 2 Death
Death hastened by technology. And our love become a funeral pyre.
Wagner Liebestod

07. The Wailing Wall
The pull of the moon. A blind man tries to describe it.
Vocals by Phil Kline

08. Grand Etude for the Elevation
The importance of height: I can see my house from here.
Violinistics by Todd Reynolds

09. Prelude
Departing, the end begins.
Bach Prelude in B flat minor. Field recording: Tuesday morning, Zurich station.

10. The Housatonic at Dzanga
The mystery of red mercury, observed by a million gray parrots.
Electronica and tape choir. Field recording: the watering hole at Dzanga, Central African Republic (Louis Sarno)


01. Meditatiom (run as fast as you can) music video by Phil Kline
02. Interview with John Schaefer
03. Production Photos


%d bloggers like this: