Skip to content

Peter Danstrup – Absolute Danstrup (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Peter Danstrup – Absolute Danstrup (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 00:43:23 minutes | 882 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © ILK Music

Absolute Danstrup is a new album from bass player and composer Peter Danstrup featuring 11 tracks with changing musicians on every track, in all 24 artists. Absolute Danstrup was mostly conceived when I was hospitalized with Covid-19. It reflects on personal, topical experiences and statements. You may call it an imaginary compilation album, dealing with a kaleidoscopic mix of songs. You will find subjects of immediate relevance, reflecting on the pandemic outbreak, the #metoo situation in Denmark and the Trump era.

The music styles change throughout the album: bluesy odd meter rock, instrumentals influenced by Captain Beefheart, sarcastic yet political musical like songs, large jazz ensemble arrangements, bass tunes and female a cappella singing. All of it compiled with the unmistakably Danstrup trade mark of clever, colorful, condensed extracts of music, interesting arrangements with an open headroom for individual presentations. The gender balance is 12/12, a clear response to the discussions about male/female representation in music.

01. Peter Danstrup – Jesus Gonna Make up My Dying Bed
02. Peter Danstrup – Covidiously Speaking
03. Peter Danstrup – (I Wish I Was an) American
04. Peter Danstrup – Donkeyman
05. Peter Danstrup – Peter Edderkop
06. Peter Danstrup – Petrified Heart
07. Peter Danstrup – Crisis
08. Peter Danstrup – Injection March
09. Peter Danstrup – Late Sequel
10. Peter Danstrup – The Bat
11. Peter Danstrup – If I Fall


%d bloggers like this: