Skip to content

Penelope Trappes – Penelope Two (2018) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Penelope Trappes – Penelope Two (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 32:06 minutes | 330 MB | Genre: Electronic, Indie, Ambient
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front cover | © Houndstooth

Following her debut album ‘Penelope One’ for Optimo Music, antipodean vocalist, musician and soundscaper Penelope Trappes presents sophomore longplayer ‘Penelope Two’, for Houndstooth. Elements from multiple sources are subsumed by Trappes’ sonic presence; one hears Baldametti and Julee Criuse’s work for ‘Blue Velvet’ and Twin Peaks, Galazie 500 and Slowdive’s dreampop, the schorched comedowns of early Primal Scream, Tuxedomoon and Colin Newman’s dark melancholia, plus contemporaries like Grouper, Tropic Of Cancer and Sky H1. A deeply melodic, with her intimate, maternally-tender voice floating in the middle of each three dimensional, womb-like sonic space. Originally from Byron Bay Australia before moving to New York, meeting partner Stephen and developing experimental electronic projects Locke and Priscilla Sharp, prior to their best-know incarnation -The Golden Filter. Cut and mastered by Matt Colton and manufactured at optimal media, Germany.

2017 saw the release of the Golden Filter’s Penelope Trappes’ first solo effort, Penelope One, via Optimo Music. Here, esteemed London electronic label Houndstooth have put out her sophomore release. The record’s hypnotic and atmospheric soundscapes further cement the label’s mission statement to put out an eclectic array of unique and original electronic music. Much like its predecessor, the album is composed of swirling ambience and gorgeous, reverb-laden songs. Album-opener “Silence” delivers Trappes’ crooning vocal melodies amidst a cloud of ambience before giving way to lead single “Connector.” The latter features thudding, crunchy percussion with overdriven David Lynch-esque guitars while Trappes’ forlorn vocals ache through the rest of the mix before the latter half of the song delivers rich, warm synth pads carrying listeners out to the end. Another highlight is “Carry Me,” a sinister and powerful track made up of unwavering minor chords that bubble atop bluesy percussion, with creepy vocal harmonies carrying the track verse to verse. The follow-up “Maeve” recalls the angelic and warm vocal work of Julee Cruise, panning out among celestial and ethereal bursts of synthesized chords. Just like her first release, Penelope Two exemplifies Trappes’ ability to craft arresting and magnetic songs that feature minimal composition. She manages to say a lot while never overdoing things or cluttering up the mix. The album is another solid outing for this unique and talented musician. ~ Rob Wacey


01. Silence
02. Connector
03. Burn On
04. Kismet
05. Carry Me
06. Maeve
07. Exodus
08. Farewell
09. For You
10. Nite Hive


%d bloggers like this: