Skip to content

Pelleas Ensemble – Nature and the Imagination (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Pelléas Ensemble – Nature and the Imagination (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:07:28 minutes | 1,27 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Linn Records

The Pelléas Ensemble’s debut album illustrates the many possibilities offered by the unique combination of flute, viola and harp. It presents a rich and expressive collection of repertoire spanning three centuries. Debussy, Rameau and Bax all shared an appreciation of science and nature which they combined in their art with elements of improvisation, mystery and spirituality. Sir Richard Rodney Bennett illustrates the myth of Syrinx – a story of unrequited love and metamorphosis – through his own transformation of the music of Debussy. Composed for the Pelléas Ensemble in 2017, and recorded here for the first time, Scherzo by Benjamin Graves provides a vibrant and original exploration of the dramatic possibilities of all three instruments. The Pelléas Ensemble have made a name for themselves through their intimate, honest music-making, and ambitious programming. Through this album they demonstrate the versatility of the ensemble; each instrument has a chance to celebrate its distinctive voice, whilst multifarious textures and colours are afforded by the three together.


1. Pelléas Ensemble – I. Pastorale
2. Pelléas Ensemble – II. Interlude
3. Pelléas Ensemble – III. Finale
4. Pelléas Ensemble – I. La Laborde
5. Pelléas Ensemble – II. La Boucon
6. Pelléas Ensemble – III. L’Agaçante
7. Pelléas Ensemble – Syrinx, L. 129
8. Pelléas Ensemble – Sonata after Syrinx
9. Pelléas Ensemble – Elegiac Trio
10. Pelléas Ensemble – Scherzo
11. Pelléas Ensemble – A Foggy Day / Love Walked In


%d bloggers like this: