Skip to content

Peggy Lee – Things Are Swingin’ (1959/2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Peggy Lee – Things Are Swingin’ (1959/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 52:03 minutes | 281 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © RevOla

Things sure were swingin’ on this 1959 Capitol album, one of Peggy’s finest and most overlooked jazz outings. Accompanied by an all-star tentet that featured Pete Candoli, Barney Kessel and Shelly Manne among its members, she tackled originals and great standards including “It’s a Wonderful World”; “Ridin’ High”; “I’m Beginning to See the Light”; “Alone Together”, and more.

Midway through a small lull in her live performance career, Peggy Lee recorded the stereo LP Things Are Swingin’ in Hollywood during May 1958, at the same sessions that produced the biggest hit of her career, “Fever.” (Though not on the original LP, it was added to the 2004 reissue as a bonus track.) Still, Things Are Swingin’ isn’t a high point in Lee’s career, especially when considered among her many successes of the late ’50s (like the following year’s Beauty and the Beat!). Though her instincts and powers of bewitchment were faultless as ever, she betrayed a few weaknesses in her normally excellent voice (perhaps a result of her semi-retirement at the time), and the ten-piece studio orchestra – including session heavyweights Don Fagerquist, Barney Kessel, Bob Enevoldsen, Howard Roberts, Pete Candoli, and Shelly Manne – isn’t given much to work with by conductor Jack Marshall.


01 – It’s A Wonderful World
02 – Things Are Swingin’
03 – Alright, Okay, You Win
04 – Ridin’ High
05 – It’s Been A Long, Long Time
06 – Lullaby In Rhythm
07 – Alone Together
08 – I’m Beginning To See The Light
09 – It’s A Good, Good Night
10 – You’re Getting To Be A Habit With Me
11 – You’re Mine, You
12 – Life Is For Livin’
13 – Jump For Joy
14 – Back In Your Own Back Yard
15 – When My Sugar Walks Down The Street
16 – I Hear Music
17 – Just In Time
18 – Old Devil Moon
19 – What A Little Moonlight Can Do
20 – Four Or Five Times
21 – Music! Music! Music!
22 – The Glory Of Love

Arranged and Conducted by Jack Marshall.
Recorded on May 19–30, 1958 in Hollywood, California.

Peggy Lee – vocals
Uan Rasey – trumpet
Pete Candoli – trumpet
Don Fagerquist – trumpet
Conrad Gozzo – trumpet
Mannie Klein – trumpet
Milt Bernhart – trombone
Bob Enevoldsen – valve trombone
Justin Gordon – reeds
Joe Harnell – piano
Howard Roberts – guitar
Barney Kessel – guitar
Joe Mondragon – double bass
Shelly Manne – drums


%d bloggers like this: