Skip to content

Paul Van Nevel, Huelgas Ensemble – La Oreja de Zurbaran (2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Paul Van Nevel, Huelgas Ensemble – La Oreja de Zurbarán (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 56:54 minutes | 1,07 GB | Genre: Classical
Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Covers & Digital Booklet | © Cypres

The Huelgas Ensemble was founded by director Paul Van Nevel in 1971. It has specialized in choral music, frequently with instrumental support, from the thirteenth century on to the early Baroque. Their recordings of the High Renaissance have been especially prized. They have also been pioneers in the performance of the difficult Ars Subtilior repertory of the late medieval era.

La Oreja de Zurbarán. Zurbarán’s Ear. The title chosen by Paul Van Nevel to illustrate the programme of this disc is a clear indication of his intention: to bring to life the music that the Spanish painter Francisco de Zurbarán (1598-1664) would have heard in the course of a career that led him from Seville to Madrid. Bearing as it does the imprint of the Counter Reformation, the artistic production of this contemporary of Velázquez and Murillo shares with the musical repertory of the time the same desire: to make accessible to all the faithful the mystical ideas – albeit toned down – of religious figures such as Saint Teresa of Avila and Saint John of the Cross. If the Church is the manifest setting within which intimate union with the divine is to be effected, polyphonic music, like the canvases of Zurbarán, becomes the ideal medium for bringing a listener in search of ecstasy closer to God. This routine practice undertaken by the ecclesiastical authorities went, paradoxically, hand in hand with the eruption of the secular in the domain of the sacred: church music was gradually to take on the trappings of a modernity come directly from Italy and, nurtured at the sources of traditional music, to become a tool for unsuspectedly effective evangelisation. Through an anthology of sacred and secular works, many of them hitherto unpublished, fluctuating between archaism and modernity, Paul Van Nevel and his Huelgas Ensemble seek to show how music and painting stem from one and the same vision of the world, thus presenting the listener-spectator with the keys for an understanding of a period of which the watchword was ‘mysticism’.

01 – Miserere mei Deus
02 – Rio de Sevilla
03 – Lauda Sion Salvatorem
04 – Agnus Dei “In exitu Israel”
05 – Dos estrellas le seguen
06 – Lamentaciones
07 – Fatigada navecilla
08 – Stabat Mater dolorosa

Features the Music of Andrés Barea, Juan Garcia de Salazar, Diego de Pontac, Manuel Machado,
Fray José de Vaquedano, Mateo Romero, Miguel de Ambiela, and Anonymous.


%d bloggers like this: