Skip to content

Paul Simon – Paul Simon (1972/2010) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Paul Simon – Paul Simon (1972/2010)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz | Time – 00:43:12 minutes | 822 MB | Genre: Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: | © Legacy Recordings
Recorded: January to March 1971

If any musical justification were needed for the breakup of Simon & Garfunkel, it could be found on this striking collection, Paul Simon’s post-split debut, writes “From the opening cut, ‘Mother and Child Reunion’ (a Top 10 hit), Simon, who had snuck several subtle musical explorations into the generally conservative S&G sound, broke free, heralding the rise of reggae with an exuberant track recorded in Jamaica for a song about death. From there, it was off to Paris for a track in South American style and a rambling story of a fisherman’s son, ‘Duncan’ (which made the singles chart). But most of the album had a low-key feel, with Simon on acoustic guitar backed by only a few trusted associates (among them Joe Osborn, Larry Knechtel, David Spinozza, Mike Manieri, Ron Carter, and Hal Blaine, along with such guests as Stefan Grossman, Airto Moreira, and Stephane Grappelli), singing a group of informal, intimate, funny, and closely observed songs (among them the lively Top 40 hit ‘Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard’). It was miles removed from the big, stately ballad style of Bridge Over Troubled Water and signaled that Simon was a versatile songwriter as well as an expressive singer with a much broader range of musical interests than he had previously demonstrated.”

1 Mother And Child Reunion 3:05
2 Duncan 4:39
3 Everything Put Together Falls Apart 1:59
4 Run That Body Down 3:52
5 Armistice Day 3:55
6 Me And Julio Down By The Schoolyard 2:42
7 Peace Like A River 3:20
8 Papa Hobo 2:35
9 Hobo’s Blues 1:20
10 Paranoia Blues 2:45
11 Congratulations 3:40
Bonus Tracks
12 Me And Julio Down By The Schoolyard (Demo-San Francisco 2/71) 2:30
13 Duncan (Demo-San Francisco 2/71) 2:49
14 Paranoia Blues (Unreleased Version) 3:41

Paul Simon: acoustic guitar, vocals, percussion (10), producer, arranger (all tracks)
Hal Blaine: drums (4, 10, 11)
Huks Brown: lead guitar (1)
Ron Carter: bass (4)
Russel George: bass (6)
Stéphane Grappelli: violin (9)
Winston Grennan: drums (1)
Stefan Grossman: bottleneck guitar (10)
Jerry Hahn: electric guitar (4, 5)
Neville Hinds: organ (1)
Jackie Jackson: bass (1)
Larry Knechtel: piano (1), electric piano (3, 11), harmonium (3, 8), organ (11)
Denzil Laing: percussion (1)
Fred Lipsius: horns (5)
Los Incas: flute, charango, percussion (2)
Mike Mainieri: vibes (4)
Charlie McCoy: bass harmonica (8)
Victor Montanez: drums (7)
Airto Moreira: percussion (5, 6)
Joe Osborn: bass (7, 11)
John Schroer: horns (5, 10)
David Spinozza: acoustic guitar (4, 6)
Steven Turre: horns (10)
Wallace Wilson: rhythm guitar (1)
Cissy Houston, Von Eva Sims, Renelle Stafford and Deirdre Tuck: backing vocals (1)


%d bloggers like this: